Younis Khan And Mushtaq Ahmed Are Unlikely To Be Part of The Zimbabwe Series: Report

Younis Khan And Mushtaq Ahmed Are Unlikely To Be Part of The Zimbabwe Series: Report

Pakistan, Asia Cup 2020, BCCI, PCB
PCB (Credits - AFP)

Batting coach, Younis Khan, and spin bowling coach Mushtaq Ahmed might not be part of the Pakistan staff for the Zimbabwe series scheduled for later this month.

Younis Khan, PCB
Photo Credit: RIZWAN TABASSUM/AFP/Getty Images)

According to a report in Cricket Pakistan, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials feel that the two veterans will be serviceable more in Test cricket rather than limited-overs cricket. Since the series consists of three ODIs and three T20Is, their omission might not hurt the team much, believes the PCB.

Misbah-Ul-Haq (Photo Credit: PCB/Twitter)

Misbah-ul-Haq to take over in the absence of Younis Khan:

Misbah-ul-Haq, who is the head coach of the Pakistan team, will take care of the development and coaching of the batsman in the absence of Younis Khan.

The current team management includes head coach Misbah-ul-Haq, team manager Mansoor Rana, bowling coach Waqar Younis, fielding coach Abdul Majeed, physiotherapist Cliff Decan, strength and conditioning coach Yasir Malik. Security manager colonel retired Usman, media manager Raza Rashid, and masseur Malang Ali.

Pakistan will host Zimbabwe for three ODIs and three T20Is. The three ODIs will be played in Rawalpindi on October 30th, November 1st, and November 3rd. The T20Is are scheduled to be played in Lahore on November 7th, November 8th, and November 10th. This will be the first international series to be played in Pakistan during the pandemic era, post the resumption of cricket.

Pakistan has announced a 22 member squad for the series, leaving out Shoaib Malik, Sarfaraz Ahmed, and Mohammad Amir.

Pakistan’s full squad:

Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Rohail Nazir, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, Zafar Gohar, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Musa Khan, Shaheen Shah, Wahab Riaz

Also Read: Nasir Jamshed Faces Extended Prison Term And Deportation To Pakistan From UK