England Playing 11 vs Australia – ICC World Cup 2023, Match 36
Photo Credit: (Twitter/ECB)

Last Update on: September 23rd, 2023 at 10:34 am

The England Cricket Board (ECB) is likely to propose special 3-year contracts with top England players to prevent them from playing franchise cricket according to a report in ESPN Cricinfo. The defending champions have named their 15-member squad led by Jos Buttler aiming to defend their World Cup title.

The reports in ESPN Cricinfo said that the contracts are an update to previous contracts signed for one year when leagues around the world are expanding and almost every country has a league of its own.

The Cricinfo report said that 26 players have been offered the contract. As many as 20 cricketers have earned a multi-year deal with prominent names like Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, and Mark Wood among others featuring in the list. Jofra Archer could also fetch a deal as per reports.

Also Read: ENG vs IRE Cricket Betting Tips and Tricks, 2nd ODI Match Prediction 2023

Gives You Security: Ben Duckett On ECB’s Proposed Multi-Year Contracts

“It’s certainly not negative, it kind of gives you a bit of security,” Ben Duckett was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

“The security of players wanting to keep playing for England is perfect. For me the main thing is walking out and representing my country, it’s not really a contract but that’s a bonus,” he added.

It will be up to the England players now to accept these contracts. While the basic salary has been discussed, those offered multi-year- deals might want to the first 12 months’ salary to give them greater flexibility.

The contracts will come into effect in October after the ECB had discussions with players for a month. A few players are supposed to have missed the discussions but by and large, the multi-year deal is being considered as beneficial for the England players.

England Squad For ICC World Cup 2023

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023 Prize Money Revealed

Anshuman Roy Author Profile

Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.