ICC World Cup 2023
ICC World Cup 2023 [PC: ICC]

Last Update on: September 22nd, 2023 at 05:29 pm

The prize money for the ICC World Cup 2023 has been revealed. The ICC on Friday, September 22 revealed the amount of money that will be won by the champions followed by the runners-up and the semi-finalists.

The ICC World Cup 2023 will be played in the round-robin format with all teams playing each other once in the league stage. The top four teams will qualify for the semi-final followed by the final between the top two teams.

The winners of the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 are set to receive USD 4 million of the USD 10 million total prize pool, ICC announced on 22 September. The runners-up of the final to be played on 19 November at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will take home USD 2 million, the ICC revealed.

Teams will be winning a prize money of USD 40,000 for every victory in the group stage. There is prize money up for grabs for teams who fail to reach the knockouts with each team getting USD 100,000.

The prize money also sets the precedent for the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025, with ICC announcing equal prize money for both men and women cricketers during the Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa in July 2023.

Also Read: Revealed: Why Mohammed Siraj Is Not Playing Today’s Match vs Australia

All teams barring Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have now announced their 15-member squad for the World Cup. The latest team to announce their squad was Pakistan who will be heading into the tournament without Naseem Shah.

The tournament will be played from October 5 to November 19 with matches to be held in as many as 10 venues. Ahmedabad will host the campaign opener and the final on November 19. Before the tournament starts, each team will play two practice games each.

Break Up Of ICC World Cup 2023 Prize Money

StageRate US$Total US$
Winner (1)4,000,0004,000,000
Runner-up (1)2,000,0002,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)800,0001,600,000
Teams eliminated after group stage (6)100,000600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45)40,0001,800,000

Also Read: Watch: KL Rahul Stumps Marnus Labuschagne As Ball Ricochets Off His Pad Onto Sticks After He Drops The Catch

Anshuman Roy Author Profile

Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.