Bangladesh Announces Its T20 World Cup Squad; Mahmudullah To Lead
Bangladesh Announces Its T20 World Cup Squad; Mahmudullah To Lead. Image Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: September 9th, 2021 at 12:45 pm

Bangladesh has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup on September 9, Thursday. Mahmudullah will lead the side with experienced bowler Rubel Hossain and Aminul Islam included in the reserves.

Rubel last played for the national team in T20I’s back in April 2021 against New Zealand. Considering the slow and low pitches in UAE, he hasn’t been deemed necessary to the Tigers’ world cup campaign.

Bangladesh Announces Its T20 World Cup Squad; Mahmudullah To Lead
Mahmudullah (Credits: Twitter)

This is one of Bangladesh’s strongest squads in recent times, as witnessed when they defeated trans-Tasmanian countries, Australia and New Zealand, at home recently in the T20I series. Tamim Iqbal had pulled out of the squad as he believed it would be unfair to the person who has replaced him in the above-mentioned series.

Therefore, Soumya Sarkar retains his place on the team despite poor outings against the Aussies and the Kiwis. The Tigers have a strong spin-bowling department that can exploit the conditions in the UAE.

Image Source: Twitter

Mahedi Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasum Ahmed have excellent match-practice going into the ICC event. The wily pace bowler Mustafizur Rahman has also been on fire of late, and he will lead the pace attack for Bangladesh. His slower deliveries have flummoxed many a batsman and he will be hoping to do the same in October.

Bangladesh has been put alongside Oman, Scotland, and Papua New Guinea in Group B qualifiers. If they secure a top-two finish, they will make it to the Super-12 stage of the tournament. Their first fixture is against Scotland on October 17.

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Image Credit: Getty Images.

Bangladesh squad for T20 World Cup

Mahmudullah (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed

Reserves: Aminul Islam, Rubel Hossain

Also Read – MS Dhoni’s Addition As Mentor Will Help Virat Kohli – Pragyan Ojha