T20 World Cup 2021, Match 33: India vs Afghanistan – Toss Report
T20 World Cup 2021, Match 33: India vs Afghanistan – Toss Report

The Match 33 of the T20 World Cup will see the clash of India and Afghanistan – two teams with different positions and aims in the event – at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

With two losses in two outings, India are hanging by a thread in the tournament and a loss against Afghanistan will send them packing. Mohammad Nabi’s side, who have 4 points in 3 games with a high net run rate of +3.097, will move closer to the semi-final spot should they manage an upset over the Men In Blue.

India vs Afghanistan
India vs Afghanistan (Credits: Twitter)

It’s a battle of contrasting methodology which both sides play by. India, who are much comfortable chasing rather than setting a total – as seen by their previous two innings – bat in a conservative, traditional approach of getting their eye in before launching an assault in the death. They are, though, still finding their best batting order and a threatening bowling combination.

Afghanistan, on the other hand, have taken a leaf out of West Indies’ book since the last T20 World Cup five years ago. They like to bat in a gung-ho style right from the first over, and then their spinners strangle the opposition under the pressure of a target. Both of their wins so far have come while defending: they blew away Scotland and Nambia by 130 runs and 62 runs respectively, and gave Pakistan their toughest challenge of the tournament.

Although India are 2-0 up over Afghanistan in T20 World Cups, those wins came in 2010 and 2012, and Afghanistan’s rise in the last decade has been nothing short of incredible. Should they manage a victory over the Asian giants on Wednesday, it will be a testament to this upsurge.

T20 World Cup 2021, Match 33: India vs Afghanistan – Toss Report

Indian captain Virat Kohli calls tails and it’s Heads. Afghanistan elect to field first against India.

T20 World Cup 2021, Match 33: India vs Afghanistan – Playing XI Details:

India Playing XI:

KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah

Afghanistan Playing XI:

Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Shahzad (Wk), Gurbaz, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (C), Gulbadin Naib, Rashid Khan, Karim Janat, Haseeb Hamid, Naveen-Ul-Haq

Also Read: Babar Azam Leapfrogs Dawid Malan To Become The Number 1 T20I Batsman