Australia with their maiden T20 World Cup. Image-Twitter

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the best playing XI of the recently concluded T20 World Cup and as expected, no Indian player made the list.

The team was put together by a panel that featured commentators, former players, and journalists – Ian Bishop (Convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth – of Wisden, the Daily Mail, and Mail on Sunday – and Shahid Hashmi of Agence France Presse and ARY Channel.

Ian Bishop
Ian Bishop (Image Credit: Twitter)

The list featured three players from the winning team, Australia, which doesn’t come as a surprise. Talking about the selected squad, Bishop said: “As with any team selection there will be varying opinions and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad.

The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament. Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final,” he said.

The batting order for the ICC Team of the Tournament

Explosive openers, David Warner and Jos Buttler, are at the top, with Pakistan skipper, Babar Azam coming in at No.3. Warner won the Man of the Tournament award for his batting exploits – 289 runs at an average of 48.16 and Buttler scored a scintillating century against Sri Lanka in the Super 12 stage.

David Warner

Babar had four fifties in the tournament and was the only batsman to score 300+ runs. The rest of the batting order is filled by Lankan batsman, Charith Asalanka, South Africa’s Aiden Markram, and England all-rounder, Moeen Ali. Asalanka scored 231 runs at 46.20 while Markram put up 162 runs at a healthy average of 54.

Moeen mostly impressed with the ball in the powerplay, keeping things tight while picking 11 wickets in total. Hattrick hero, Wanindu Hasarana, comes in at No.7 along with fellow leg-spinner, Adam Zampa. Both were fabulous for their teams, picking up 16 and 13 wickets respectively.

Adam Zampa, ICC
Australia. (Image: Twitter)

The pace attack comprises Kiwi pacer Trent Boult, Australia’s Josh Hazlewood, and Anrich Nortje. The trio had an excellent economy throughout the tournament and each was excellent in different phases of the game. Shaheen Afridi was named as the 12th man because of his excellent performances in the Super 12 stage.

ICC T20 World Cup Team of the Tournament

David Warner (Australia)
Jos Buttler (wk) (England)
Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan)
Charith Asalanka (Sri Lanka)
Aiden Markram (South Africa)
Moeen Ali (England)
Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)
Adam Zampa (Australia)
Josh Hazlewood (Australia)
Trent Boult (New Zealand)
Anrich Nortje (South Africa)
12th Man: Shaheen Afridi

Also Read – MS Dhoni Told Me I “Need Not Worry About My Place In The Side”- Ruturaj Gaikwad Says Backing From CSK Captain Last Season Gave Him Confidence