BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Thanks MS Dhoni For Accepting The Role Of Mentor For T20 World Cup 2021
BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Thanks MS Dhoni For Accepting The Role Of Mentor For T20 World Cup 2021

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has revealed whether MS Dhoni will be the mentor of the Indian team after the conclusion of ICC T20 World Cup 2021. MS Dhoni has been nominated as Team India’s mentor during the forthcoming T20I World Cup 2021. Many Indian cricket fans are too happy and excited to hear the news of MS Dhoni’s role as a mentor during the ICC event.

T20 World Cup 2021 will commence in UAE on October 17, 2021, post the conclusion of IPL 2021 at the same venue. Virat Kohli-led India are part of group 2 in the Super 12 stage, with teams like Pakistan, New Zealand, and Afghanistan in the pool. India will play their opening match against Pakistan on October 24.

BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly
BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Schedule, India Squad And Schedule, Groups, Team List, All Team Squad, Time Table, Tickets, And Venue

MS Dhoni Will Be There Only For The T20 World Cup 2021: Sourav Ganguly

In an interview with The Telegraph Online, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly was asked if MS Dhoni will continue to be the mentor of Team India after T20 World Cup 2021. To this, Ganguly replied that MS Dhoni will take up the role only for the ICC tournament.

“He (MS Dhoni) will be there only for the T20 World Cup. He’s made it clear to us”, Ganguly said.

Sourav Ganguly also mentioned that the presence of heavyweights players in big-ticket events always helps the team.

“It’s just to help the side in the World Cup. He has a good record in the T20 format for India and the Chennai Super Kings. There has been a lot of thought behind it. We discussed a lot and then decided to have him on board. We haven’t won an ICC trophy since 2013. Remember Australia had Steve Waugh in a similar role when they drew the Ashes 2-2 in England the last time. The presence of such heavyweights in big-ticket events always helps”, BCCI chief further said.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

MS Dhoni-led India to title victory in ICC T20 World Cup 2007. In the final of the first-ever edition of the ICC tournament, India defeated Pakistan to bag the trophy. It was the only time that India emerged as champions of the tournament. Team India also reached the final of the T20I World Cup 2014, but they lost to Sri Lanka and finished as runners-up.

BCCI recently announced the Indian squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Under skipper Virat Kohli, the Indian team comprises batsmen like Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Suryakumar Yadav. For wicketkeepers, Ishant Kishan and Rishabh Pant have been picked.

India all rounders
Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja[photo: Twitter]
Also Read: “Bad Form Was On My Mind, Especially After The IPL,” Says Yuzvendra Chahal After Omission From T20 World Cup 2021 Squad

Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya are 2 all-rounders in the team. For spinners, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, and Rahul Chahar have been inducted into the squad. For pacers, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, and Deepak Chahar have been picked.