T20 World Cup 2021: Pakistan Squad Test Negative For Covid-19; Seven-Day Training Camp To Start From Sunday In Lahore

Pakistan National Cricket Team
Image Source: Twitter

All the players selected in Pakistan’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2021 have tested negative for covid-19, the PCB announced on Saturday. On Friday, the players and their families entered the bio-bubble at a hotel in Lahore and underwent testing.

The Pakistan squad will next participate in a week-long training and conditioning camp under bio-secure protocols at the National High-Performance Centre and LCCA ground, Lahore, from Sunday.

The players will train at the LCCA ground on 11 and 12 October and play an intra-squad practice match under the lights on 14 October. Babar Azam’s team will depart for Dubai using a chartered flight on 15 October.

T20 World Cup 2021
T20 World Cup 2021. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Changes made to Pakistan’s squad

On Friday, the PCB made three changes to Pakistan’s T20 World Cup squad; a fourth change will also be made as Sohaib Maqsood has been ruled out due to injury.

Former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed and Haider Ali replaced Azam Khan and Mohammad Hasnain respectively, while Fakhar Zaman, who was earlier named as a travelling reserve, has been swapped with Khushdil Shah in the main 15-man squad.

PCB stated that these changes made to the initially picked squad have been made “taking into consideration player performances and form” of the three incoming and dropped cricketers.

Sarfaraz Ahmed [photo: Twitter]
On Saturday, Sohaib Maqsood was confirmed to have been ruled out due to a lower back injury. The PCB will soon name a replacement.

Pakistan will meet India in their opening encounter on October 24 in Dubai. They will then face New Zealand, Afghanistan, and two other teams who will qualify from Round 1 in the Super 12 stage.

Pakistan T20 World Cup squad:

Babar Azam (C), Shadab Khan (VC), Asif Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Junior, Shaheen Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Sohaib Maqsood (replacement to be named)

Travelling reserves: Usman Qadir, Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani

Also Read: IPL 2021: Marcus Stoinis Likely To Be Fit For Qualifier Against CSK- Reports

Related Posts