Twitter Reacts As India Crush Zimbabwe By 71 Runs To Finish As Group 2 Table-toppers In T20 World Cup 2022
Twitter Reacts As India Crush Zimbabwe By 71 Runs To Finish As Group 2 Table-toppers In T20 World Cup 2022

The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) hosted the final Super 12 stage match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 that saw the battle between Rohit Sharma-led India National Cricket Team and Craig Ervine-led Zimbabwe National Cricket Team on Sunday, November 6.

Dominant India National Cricket Team defeated Zimbabwe National Cricket Team by 71 runs to finish the Super 12 stage as the Group 2 table-toppers. The 2007 T20 World Cup champions will now lock horns with England National Cricket Team in semi-final 2 on November 10 at the Adelaide Oval.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Earlier, India National Cricket Team won the toss and elected to bat first in the match. They made one change to the playing XI as Rishabh Pant replaced Dinesh Karthik. The Chevrons, on the other hand, decided to include Wellington Masakadza and Tony Munyonga in the playing XI for Milton Shumba and Luke Jongwe.

KL Rahul. PC- Getty
KL Rahul. PC- Getty

Indian openers – KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma – failed to provide their side with a good start for the 5th consecutive time in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Captain Rohit was cleaned up by Blessing Muzarabani in the 4th over and he scored just 15 runs off 13 balls.

Rahul showcased some good batting and in-form Virat Kohli once again looked in good touch and they built a good partnership. At the end of the 10th over, the Men In Blue were at 79/1.

In the 12th over, Sean Williams broke the 60-run partnership between Rahul and Kohli by dismissing the latter for 26. In the very next over, Sikandar Raza sent back Rahul and the Indian vice-captain scored 51 runs off 35 balls, including 3 fours and 3 sixes.

In the end, Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya failed to make any major contributions, but a remarkable knock from Suryakumar Yadav helped Team India post 186/5 on the board.

Suryakumar Yadav. PC- Getty-ICC

The No.1 ranked T20I batter Suryakumar Yadav smashed sensational 61 runs off 25 balls, including 6 terrific fours and 4 exceptional sixes.

Chasing the target, Zimbabwe batters struggled against the Indian bowling unit. The only batters who were able to give some fight to the Indian bowlers were Sikandar Raza and Ryan Burl. Raza scored 34 runs off 24 balls, including 3 fours, and Burl scored 35 runs off 22 balls, including 5 fours and 1 six.

The Chevrons were bundled out for 115 and all six Indian bowlers picked at least one wicket each. Ravichandran Ashwin picked up 3 wickets, Hardik Pandya and Mohammed Shami bagged 2 wickets each while Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh bagged 1 wicket each.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin (PC-Getty Images)

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To India vs Zimbabwe ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Game:



Also Read: “Suryakumar Yadav Can’t Be From This Planet” – World No.1 Batter Stuns Twitterverse With His Knock vs Zimbabwe


Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.