Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: September 27th, 2023 at 01:27 pm

Team India have made a number of changes to their playing eleven for the third and final ODI against Australia in Rajkot. A few changes were very much on the cards due to the return of captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, and Kuldeep Yadav.

All four players were rested for the first two ODIs of the series after the triumphant campaign in Asia Cup 2023. And after the conclusion of the second ODI, Shubman Gill and Shardul Thakur were also rested while Jasprit Bumrah also joined the team for the third ODI after missing the previous match due to personal reasons.

Team India were also compelled to make a forced change in the playing eleven as Ishan Kishan was unavailable for the match. Speaking at the toss, captain Rohit Sharma revealed that the wicketkeeper-batsman had missed out due to a viral fever. Ishan Kishan played in the previous two ODIs, registering scores of 18 and 31.

Rohit Sharma reveals the reason behind Ishan Kishan’s absence:

Speaking at the toss, Rohit Sharma confirmed that he, Virat Kohli, and Kuldeep Yadav will play the match while Ishan Kishan has missed out due to a viral fever.

“Conditions are much better here, looks like there’s good weather. Decent temperature as well, we’re just looking forward to this game. The breaks are more important from a mental perspective than a physical one. Very happy with how we played, almost everything we wanted to do we got it done. Gives us a chance for us to see what we want to do.

Read More  Pat Cummins Insults Virat Kohli And Indian Fans Even More

“Looks a bit dry, it’s going to play slightly better under lights, we wanted to chase anyway. Let’s see if we can make use of the two new balls. Myself, Virat, and Kuldeep are all back. From the last game, Ashwin is also missing, Washington is in. Ishan is not well, he’s got viral fever so he misses out,” said Rohit Sharma.

Meanwhile, India have already sealed the three-match series by winning the first two ODIs and will be eyeing a historic whitewash. India have never whitewashed Australia in an ODI series and will fancy their chances.

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Australia (Playing XI): Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey(w), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Tanveer Sangha, Josh Hazlewood

Read More  'I Apologized To Ruturaj Gaikwad And He...'- Yashasvi Jaiswal

PrinceContent Editor

Prince Singh is an Author and Editor at Cricketaddictor. Prince has been associated with the organisation for more than 5 years and in this time period, he has written close to 20000 articles for the website.