Suryakumar Yadav Or Shreyas Iyer? Rahul Dravid Reveals Who Will Play In India's Playing 11 vs Australia For The 1st ODI

Updated - 21 Sep 2023, 10:04 PM

Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer To Play In The First ODI Against Australia? Rahul Dravid Answers
Photo Credit: (AP)

Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer are expected to fight for slots in the Indian middle-order in the Australia series starting with the first ODI in Mohali on Friday, September 22.

Head coach Rahul Dravid while attending the pre-match press conference spoke about the likely Indian playing XI for the first ODI against Australia. In the process, he hinted about who among the two batters might find a place in the XI.

While SKY has been struggling with poor form in ODI cricket, Iyer has been battling a back injury from which he has reportedly recovered. Shreyas Iyer played just one game in the Asia Cup which was the first game against Pakistan and scored just 14. Ishan Kishan was preferred over SKY for the rest of the game and hence Surya was kept on the bench. Dravid however, has backed him to find form in this ODI series saying that the management backs the batter.

Completely Back Suryakumar Yadav: Rahul Dravid

“We completely back Suryakumar Yadav. We believe he will do well in ODI Cricket and turn thing around in ODIs, and will be getting opportunity in the first two ODIs against Australia,” Dravid said.

Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer before his injury was the most consistent batter at number four for India. He also scored the most runs for India in 2022 with 724 runs in 17 matches at an average of 55.69 with one century and six fifties.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul will lead the side in the absence of Rohit Sharma in the first two ODIs. Both Rohit and Kohli will be back for the third ODI. Ravichandran Ashwin has been recalled into the side in the absence of Axar Patel who is missing the first two games due to an injury. Washington Sundar retains his place in the squad after the Asia Cup 2023 final.

Also Read: India World Cup Schedule 2023: Full Schedule With PDF, Match List, Time Table, Date, Venue, Time


Australia National Cricket Team IND vs AUS 2023 India National Cricket Team India vs Australia 2023 Rahul Dravid Shreyas Iyer Suryakumar Yadav