Wasim Jaffer
Wasim Jaffer. Image Credits: Twitter

Wasim Jaffer, a former Indian opener, believes that in selecting their lineup for the ODI World Cup in 2023, Team India should remain consistent and refrain from over-experimenting.

The team’s upcoming series against Bangladesh will serve as the catalyst for its tournament preparations.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

In the games preceding the T20 World Cup 2022, the Men in Blue fielded a sizable number of players as well as captains. Jaffer claimed that this caused a lack of consistency and clarity.

Wasim Jaffer stated to ESPNCricinfo why it was crucial for the ODI World Cup hosts in the next year to maintain consistent team management. Wasim Jaffer Added:

India Cricket Team
(Photo by SURJEET YADAV/AFP via Getty Images)

“We shouldn’t make the same mistakes again. The next 20 to 25 ODIs should be played with the same captain and coach, and I hope that stability continues.”

“We do have a pretty huge talent pool”: Wasim Jaffer

The Indian team for their just-completed tour of New Zealand only included six players from that group on their roster for the series in Bangladesh. Such testing, in Wasim Jaffer’s opinion, is not necessary.

Despite the Men in Blue’s abundance of quality, Jaffer thinks it’s crucial to trust a select group of players and provide them with regular playing time. He stated:

Team India
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BCCI)

“We do have a pretty huge talent pool. But going into a World Cup year, you need to stick to your pool of 18-20 players and be patient with them, no matter how good the other players are.”

The two most prominent returning players in India’s lineup for the ODI series against Bangladesh are Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. The opening game will be on Sunday, December 4.

India’s squad for Bangladesh ODIs: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Sen.

Also Read: PAK vs ENG: Pakistan vs England Rawalpindi Test To Go Ahead As Per Schedule