VVS Laxman
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Former Indian cricketer VVS Laxman is set to join the Indian team that will travel to Zimbabwe for a 3-match ODI series starting on August 18, Thursday, as per reports.

Laxman is likely to be joined by Sairaj Bahutule and Hrishikesh Kanitkar, both of whom have already worked with Laxman during India’s tour of Ireland earlier this year and a couple of warmup matches in England.

Laxman, who is the head of the National Cricket Academy (NCA), will fill in during Rahul Dravid’s absence. While Laxman worked with Hardik Pandya the previous time around, KL Rahul will be leading against Zimbabwe.

Rohit Sharma and VVS Laxman (Image Credits: Twitter)
Rohit Sharma and VVS Laxman (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Karnataka batter was cleared for the tour and will be the skipper, replacing Shikhar Dhawan who was originally slated to be the captain. The duo will be the likely openers for the Indian team, which will be without Rohit Sharma.

The BCCI Medical Team has assessed KL Rahul and cleared him to play in the upcoming three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy,” the BCCI said in a statement.

Hardik Pandya, VVS Laxman
Hardik Pandya, VVS Laxman. (Photo: Twitter)

The three ODIs are scheduled to be played on August 18, 20, and 22. All the matches will be played at the Harare Sports Club.

India’s squad for the Zimbabwe tour:

IND vs ZIM: VVS Laxman To Return As Head Coach For Zimbabwe Tour - Reports

KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar.

Also Read – “Prabath Jayasuriya Will Do Well For Sri Lanka Going Forward”- Mahela Jayawardena Praises The Left-Arm Spinner