IPL Auction
IPL Auction (Image Credits: Twitter)

The preparations of IPL 2022 are underway which is set to witness a clash of 10 teams this time. BCCI has already found two new franchises Lucknow and Ahmedabad that will participate in the 2022 editions along with the old 8 franchises. The next step is the successful IPL 2022 mega auction, which is scheduled to take place next month in February.

Hence, a total of 10 franchises i.e. Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow, and Ahmedabad will take part in the auctions. Each team has a total salary cap of Rs. 90 crore for the auction.

IPL 2022 Auction | IPL 2022 Teams | IPL News and Updates | IPL  2022 Schedule | ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

IPL Trophy
IPL Trophy (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Rating The 5 Best Retained Fast Bowlers

So far, all the old 8 franchises have retained a total of 27 players in their squads. Out of these, there are 19 Indian players and 8 overseas players. There are also 4 uncapped players in the retention lists. All the old teams were allowed to retain a maximum of 4 players in their squads. Out of these, there can be 3 maximum domestic players and 2 maximum overseas players.

IPL 2022 Auction Date: When And Where Will IPL 2022 Auction Take Place?

IPL 2021: Schedule, Points Table, Date, Winners, Live Streaming
IPL trophy (Image Credit: Twitter)

Also Read: IPL 2022 Auction: Team Wise One Old Player That Will Be Brought Back By The Franchise

According to the latest reports, IPL 2022 auction is going to take place on February 12 and 13, 2022. The venue of the auction is Bengaluru. The auction will take place for two days like the previous mega auction of 2018. Earlier, the mega auction was expected to take place in the first or second week of January. However, the date was extended to February.

Moreover, the 2022 auction also has a slight chance of getting postponed to a further date. The reason is that the two new teams were expected to pick 3 players in their squads ahead of the auction from the pool of released players. The deadline for this process was December 25.

However, since there were some complications with Ahmedabad franchise owner CVC capitals, this process could not be completed on time. At present, it is expected that the two new franchises will pick their 3 players this month and the IPL 2022 auction will take place on announced dates of February 12 and 13.

Lucknow Franchise

Sanjiv Goenka
Sanjiv Goenka. Photo Credits: Twitter

Also Read: IPL 2022: Gautam Gambhir Joins Lucknow Franchise As Mentor

Lucknow is one of the two new teams in IPL 2022. The Lucknow franchise is owned by Rajiv Goenka’s RPSG Group. The group paid a bidding amount of Rs. 7090 crores for the Lucknow team. This was the highest bid that BCCI received during the bidding process.

RPSG Group earlier owned the Rising Pune Supergiants team in the 2016 and 2017 seasons. According to reports, Lucknow is in talks with KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer for the captainship role. Moreover, the team might use the title Lucknow Scorchers for IPL 2022.

Ahmedabad Franchise

CVC Capitals
CVC Capitals

Ahmedabad franchise is owned by CVC Capitals. It is a British equity firm, which also has an investment in sports like formula 1 racing, football, and rugby.. The group offered a bidding amount of Rs. 5,625 crore to win the ownership of the team. According to reports, the team might use the title of Ahmedabad Renegades for the tournament.

Also Read: IPL 2022: I Don’t Know Which Team I Will End Up With – Dwayne Bravo

IPL 2022 Auction Date, Time, New Teams Lucknow And Ahmedabad, Players List

Retention Lists of Players For IPL 2022

Chennai Super Kings

Ravindra Jadeja- Rs. 16 crore
MS Dhoni- Rs. 12 crore
Moeen Ali- Rs. 8 crore
Ruuraj Gaikwad- Rs. 6 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 42 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 48 crore)

Delhi Capitals

Rishabh Pant- Rs. 16 crore
Axar Patel- Rs. 9 crore
Prithvi Shaw – Rs. 7.5 crore
Anrich Nortje – Rs. 6.5 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 42.50 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 47.50 crores)

Kolkata Knight Riders

Andre Russell- Rs. 12 crore
Varun Chakravarthy-Rs. 8 crore
Venkatesh Iyer-Rs. 8 crore
Sunil Narine-Rs. 6 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 42 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 48 crore)

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma- Rs. 16 crore
Jasprit Bumrah- Rs. 12 crore
Suryakumar Yadav- Rs. 8 crore
Kieron Pollard- Rs. 6 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 42 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 48 crore)

Punjab Kings

Mayank Agarwal- Rs. 12 crore
Arshdeep Singh- Rs. 4 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 18 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 72 crores)

Rajasthan Royals

Sanju Samson- Rs. 14 crore
Jos Buttler- Rs. 10 crore
Yashasvi Jaiswal- Rs. 4 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 28 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 62 crore)

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Virat Kohli-Rs. 15 crore
Glenn Maxwell-Rs. 11 crore
Mohammed Siraj-Rs. 7 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 33 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 57 crore)

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kane Williamson-Rs. 14 crore
Abdul Samad-Rs. 4 crore
Umran Malik-Rs. 4 crore

(Total Deduction- Rs. 22 crore, Available Salary Purse- Rs. 68 crore)

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score