Virender Sehwag, Pat Cummins
Virender Sehwag (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: May 28th, 2022 at 04:08 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Virender Sehwag, a former Indian batsman, thinks that luck had nothing to do with Gujarat Titans’ (GT) qualifying for the IPL 2022 final.

The Hardik Pandya-led team finished first in the league and was also the first team to reach the final.

Gujarat Titans. Photo- IPL
Gujarat Titans. Photo- IPL

Hardik Pandya and Ashish Nehra, in their first tenure as skipper and head coach, however, have played a vital role in the franchise’s incredible run. GT has only lost four games so far this season, thanks to a plethora of match-winners in their ranks.

The bowlers are responsible for a big part of the franchise’s performance in the event. A star-studded squad led by Mohammad Shami and Rashid Khan has surpassed expectations and is among the top ten wicket-takers this season.

‘GT was never reliant on any other team’s result’: Virender Sehwag

On Cricbuzz, Virender Sehwag stated that GT never were depending on the results of other teams:

Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill and Rashid Khan
Hardik Pandya With GT Teammates (Image Credits: Twitter)

“It’s impossible to put their success down to pure luck. They never relied on other outcomes, such as RCB. They’ve put in the time and effort, and they’ve made plans.

“It is incorrect to attribute their success to luck or the law of averages. They bought Tewatia solely to hit sixes, and he did it in a handful of matches for them,” Virender Sehwag said.

Read More  Inzamam-ul-Haq Reveals What Mohammad Amir Needs To Do To Earn A Recall After World Cup Snub, Says "If He Wants To Play..."
Rashid Khan
Rashid Khan. (Photo: Twitter)

After selecting Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, and Shubman Gill in the player draught, GT constructed their first-ever lineup at the mega auction.

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) will meet the Hardik Pandya-led team in the IPL 2022 final on May 29 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Never Really Felt Backed After 2016 – David Miller Reflects On Tough Times