Tata IPL Trophy, IPL 2022
Tata IPL Trophy. (Photo: BCCI)

The 2022 Indian Premier League starts on March 26 at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni Chennai Super Kings against the Kolkata Knight Riders in the first game.

Two new franchises, the Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans have been added to the IPL roster for the 2018 season. Both teams assembled their squads at the tournament’s major auction, bringing in top international and Indian players.

Rahul Tewatia Bought By Gujarat Titans For INR 9 crores In The IPL 2022 Mega Auction
Rahul Tewatia Bought By Gujarat Titans For INR 9 crores In The IPL 2022 Mega Auction

Rahul Tewatia, an all-rounder who was bought for INR 9 crore at the auction, was one of the other high-profile additions for Gujarat Titans. Tewatia, on the other hand, is unconcerned with the cost.

“In my perspective, so what was the point of factors that have an impact on these issues?” The team believes in you, which is why they are willing to spend so much money on you. I’m never under any duress, and all I’m attempting to do is repay their trust.”

In a media engagement, Tewatia remarked, “I just want to perform the position for which I have been brought into the squad and work hard.”

Rahul Tewatia underlines the role of the IPL this season:

Tewatia went on to say that when he walks out to bat in the forthcoming Indian Premier League, he will have a lot of burden on his shoulders.

Rahul Tewatia
Rahul Tewatia[photo: Twitter]
The role of an all-rounder is crucial and exists in every team; those who bat at 6-7-8 have a critical part to play because they have less time and more chances to make an effect. Tewatia remarked, “It’s a vital responsibility, and we can put the team in a strong position.”

“If we bat first, we try to finish well, and if we’re chasing, we’ll try to figure out how to go across the finish line and prepare accordingly,” he explained.

Gujarat Titans Squad:  Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami, Jason Roy, Lockie Ferguson, Abhinav Sadarangani, Rahul Tewatia, Noor Ahmed, Sai Kishore, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Dominic Drakes, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph, Pradeep Sangwan, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Varun Aaron, B Sai Sudharshan

Also Read:  New Zealand Announce Squad For The ODI & T20I Series vs Netherlands