KKR Had Made A Special Request To Include Ashok Sharma In IPL 2022 Mega Auction; BCCI Obliged

Updated - 15 Apr 2022, 06:35 PM

Ashok Sharma KKR

Table of Contents

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) franchise has revealed that they had specifically requested the inclusion of young fast bowler, Ashok Sharma, in the IPL 2022 mega auction.

The 19-year-old Ashok hasn’t played domestic cricket which meant he cannot be part of the auction. However, he had attended trials with Rajasthan and his performance had impressed KKR.

Therefore, they asked the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to enter Ashok’s name in the auction. The BCCI promptly agreed and Ashok ended up being in the middle of a bidding war between RR and KKR, before finally joining KKR for INR 55 lakhs.

Ashok Sharma
Ashok Sharma (Image: Twitter)

During the pandemic, he attended the Red Bull trials in Jaipur and was picked as a net bowler for Rajasthan Royals in the first phase of the IPL hosted in India last year. Dishant Yagnik, Rajasthan Royals’ fielding coach, sent out Sharma’s bowling videos to various IPL franchises after which he was invited to trials with the Kolkata Knight Riders and Rajasthan Royals.”

Having impressed the KKR management, they made a special request for Sharma’s name to be added to the IPL Auction this year after he was ineligible to apply due to no domestic experience. The BCCI obliged. At the auction, KKR and RR both bid for him before the Knight Riders secured his services for INR 55 Lakhs,” KKR wrote on its official website.

Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL 2022
Kolkata Knight Riders (Image: BCCI)

Ashok is yet to make his debut in the league but will get the golden opportunity to pick the brains of international fast bowlers like Pat Cummins, Umesh Yadav, and Tim Southee.

KKR squad for IPL 2022:

Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine, Shreyas Iyer, Pat Cummins, Nitish Rana, Shivam Mavi, Sheldon Jackson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Dar, Chamika Karunaratne, Baba Indrajith, Ashok Sharma, Pratham Singh, Abhijeet Tomar, Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Ramesh Kumar, Mohammed Nabi, Aman Khan, Umesh Yadav.

Also Read – Mumbai Indians vs Lucknow Super Giants Match Prediction: Who Will Win Today’s IPL Match Between MI And LSG? IPL 2022, Match 26, MI vs LSG


BCCI IPL 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)