IPL 2022: Rishabh Pant Gave Me The Nickname 'Sakariya Ji' - Chetan Sakariya Opens Up On First Interaction With DC Skipper

Published - 22 Mar 2022, 12:04 PM

Chetan Sakariya
Chetan Sakariya (Image Credit: Twitter)

Delhi Capitals (DC) bowler Chetan Sakariya revealed details about his first interaction with the skipper, Rishabh Pant, implying that Pant has a knack for making people comfortable right from the get-go.

Sakariya was bought by DC in the IPL 2022 mega auction for INR 4.20 crores. It is his second franchise in the league, having played for Rajasthan Royals (RR) before. Adjusting to a new atmosphere takes time but Sakariya didn’t need it with Pant around, as the pacer explains.

Rishabh Bhai and my interaction happened for the first time when we were returning from practice and all fast bowlers were taking an ice bath. And suddenly he came to the physio room and welcomed everyone to the team. He gave me the nickname “Sakariya Ji”. So if such a big player speaks like this about you then you really feel good and he made me feel comfortable,” Sakariya revealed to Sportskeeda.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant of Delhi Capitals (Photo-AFP)

DC has a stacked bowling lineup and Sakariya understands that he will have to work hard to warrant a place in the side. They retained Anrich Nortje from the previous season and he is expected to be the leader of the pace attack.

When I was picked by DC in the auction then the team was already picked. There was Nortje, Shardul Bhai, Nagarkoti, Khaleel Bhai, etc. So the first thing that came to my mind is that it will be a good competition and there are good contenders and that I will have to work hard,” Sakariya added.

Anrich Nortje
Anrich Nortje (Image: Twitter)

Sakariya took 14 wickets in 14 games for RR, who had a disappointing season. Nevertheless, the youngster will have a chance to play under DC head coach, Ricky Ponting, who is known to be a great man-manager.

Delhi Capitals IPL 2022 squad:

Rishabh Pant (c), Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Ashwin Hebbar, Abhishek Sharma, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, KS Bharat, Mandeep Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Pravin Dubey, Lungi Ngidi, Vicky Ostwal, Sarfaraz Khan.

Also Read- IPL 2022: ‘Your Mindset Can’t Be The Same In Every Innings’: Shubman Gill Dismisses Talks Regarding His Low Strike Rate


IPL 2022 Rishabh Pant