Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal (Image Credit: Twitter)

Punjab Kings retained opener, Mayank Agarwal, ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auction with the idea of making him the captain. Since KL Rahul opted to leave the franchise, PBKS retained Agarwal and he could well be made the captain.

However, even though he is ready for the challenge, it is not running on his mind at the moment. Agarwal is part of the Indian Test squad that will face off against Sri Lanka at home.

Obviously, if I am made the captain, I am totally up and ready for the responsibility but I will do everything that is required of me as a player if demanded. Whether I am made the captain or not, whatever responsibilities are given, whatever will be demanded of me everything will be done from my side,” Agarwal told MensXP.

Mayank Agarwal
Image Credits: Twitter)

Having played around Rahul, Agarwal will have the experience required to take up the captaincy role. If asked by the franchise, he has no qualms in leading the side.

I am not too stressed about it. I’m not really thinking about it. If given the opportunity, I’m ready for it and looking forward to taking the responsibility and if not, I’m still looking to give everything that I have and take any role that is given by the franchise,” he added.

Read More  "India are playing without Virat Kohli, KL Rahul" - Sourav Ganguly lauds Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sarfaraz Khan after 3rd Test

Aside from Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh was retained by the PBKS franchise. They also made quality buys at the IPL 2022 mega auction, with Liam Livingstone being the most expensive player. Shahrukh Khan was bought for INR 10.75 crores as well which made him the most expensive uncapped player in IPL history.

IPL 2022: Up And Ready For Punjab Kings' Captaincy Responsibility, But Not Thinking About It - Mayank Agarwal
Liam Livingstone. (Credits: Twitter)

Punjab Kings squad for IPL 2022:

Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Rahul Chahar, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Ishan Porel, Liam Livingstone, Odean Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Prerak Mankad, Vaibhav Arora, Writtick Chatterjee, Baltej Dhanda, Ansh Patel, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Benny Howell.

Also Read- IPL 2022: Mumbai To Host 55 Matches, Remaining 15 Set To Be Held In Pune