Mohammad Nabi
Mohammad Nabi (Image Credit: Twitter)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) all-rounder Mohammad Nabi became the first fielder in the history of the IPL to take five catches in a match. He achieved the feat against Mumbai Indians (MI) in Match No. 55 of the IPL 2021 season being held in the UAE.

Nabi was brought into the side after regular skipper, Kane Williamson, complained of slight niggles in his elbow. It was his first match in the UAE leg and he managed to create a record that is very unlikely to be broken.

Mohammad Nabi
Mohammad Nabi[photo: AP]
He took the catches of Rohit Sharma, James Neesham, Krunal Pandya, Nathan Coulter-Nile, and Suryakumar Yadav to become the first non-wicket-keeper to claim five catches in the same match.

The only other player to take five catches is Kumar Sangakkara. He did so against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) while playing for Deccan Chargers Hyderabad (DC) in the 2011 IPL season. Although Nabi’s contributions in the game as a whole were limited to fielding, he would still be satisfied with the day’s proceedings.

Kumar Sangakkara
Kumar Sangakkara. (Image-Getty.)

MI fail to qualify for the playoffs despite handing SRH their 11th defeat of the season

Tasked with the impossible, MI opted to bat first on an excellent surface in Dubai. Ishan Kishan made merry of the wicket en route to his 84 off 32 balls, which included 11 fours and 4 sixes. The defending champions kept pushing hard but starting losing plenty of wickets in the middle.

Suryakumar Yadav then played a blinder in the final overs, scoring 82 off 40 balls. He was hit in the head by a pacy delivery from Umran Malik but was thankfully ruled to be fine soon afterwards. MI ended with 235 on the board and needed to restrict SRH to under-65.

IPL 2021: Mohammad Nabi Takes Five Catches Against MI; Becomes First Fielder In IPL History To Do So
Mumbai Indians (Image: Mumbai Indians/ Twitter)

They couldn’t do it, however, which meant that Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) qualified on the basis of their net run rate. The play-off stage begins on October 10 with the finals being played on October 15.

Also Read – IPL 2021: ‘Unbelievable Game’ – RCB Captain Virat Kohli After A Dramatic 7-wicket Victory Over DC