Not CSK or Mumbai Indians!! Aakash Chopra names the deadliest spin attack in IPL 2024

Updated - 04 Mar 2024, 02:24 PM

Aakash Chopra and Suyash Sharma
Aakash Chopra and Suyash Sharma (Credits: Instagram)

Former India and Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Aakash Chopra feels his former IPL employers have the best spin bowling attack among all the teams in IPL 2024. Chopra made this claim while speaking on his latest YouTube video where he was dissecting the spin batteries of all the 10 teams. He mentioned that the trio of Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, and Suyash Sharma will be wonderous for the 2-time champions.

Aakash Chopra, in the video, also asked the KKR franchise to make sure they produce a slow-spinning track to help their spin trio. He claimed that his mind automatically goes towards the Shreyas Iyer-led outfit whenever he thinks about the team with the best spin attack. The Knight Riders have finished below the top 4 in the previous 2 editions – 7th in 2022 as well as 2023.

Aakash Chopra hails Sunil Narine for his economy and also applauds Varun Chakravarthy and Suyash Sharma

The 46-year-old expert analyst hailed the KKR spinners for their effectiveness, one by one pointing out all of their strengths. Chopra first pointed out that even if Sunil Narine is not a serial wicket-taking bowler, he is very handy in terms of his economy rate, which is at 6.73 since his debut in 2012.

Aakash Chopra would then shed light upon Varun Chakravarthy who was once regarded as a mystery spinner, similar to what Narine used to be. Chopra highlighted Chakravarthy’s impressive performance in IPL 2023 where he registered 20 wickets after an underwhelming 2022 season.

And as for Suyash Sharma who made his IPL debut last year, picking up 10 wickets, Chopra feels KKR’s front-line spinners are all ready for the upcoming season.

“As soon as I think about spin, I don’t know why, but my mind goes towards Kolkata. Kolkata’s strategy will be to make spin-friendly pitches. They have Sunil Narine, who always plays in the XI. He is not a wicket-taker, it’s not that he takes four-wicket hauls, but he is always economical.” 

“After that, they have an amazing bowler in Varun Chakaravarthy whose stature grew suddenly last year and he was absolutely stellar. Then they have Suyash Sharma. So these are three frontline spinners who will play in the XI for sure.” – Aakash Chopra said on his latest YT video. 

Other than Narine, Chakravarthy and Suyash, KKR also have two more spinners in their IPL 2024 squad. The East Indian outfit had acquired the services of Afghanistan leg-spinner Mujeeb-ur-Rahman for 2 crores and uncapped local off-spinner Angkrish Raghuvanshi for a base price of 20 Lakhs. Their pace bowling attack was further solidified after Mitchell Starc was bought for a record INR 24.75 crores.

Kolkata Knight Riders full squad for IPL 2024

KKR squad: Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shreyas Iyer (c), Jason Roy, Sunil Narine, Suyash Sharma, Anukul Roy, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakaravarthy, KS Bharat, Chetan Sakariya, Mitchell Starc, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Ramandeep Singh, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Gus Atkinson, Sakib Hussain

The 2-time champions will begin their IPL 2024 campaign against the Sunrisers Hyderabad on March 23rd at the Eden Gardens before trips to Bangalore and Delhi.


Aakash Chopra IPL 2024 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Sunil Narine Suyash Sharma Varun Chakravarthy