Mohammed Siraj, IND vs WI
Mohammed Siraj (Image: Twitter)

Jasprit Bumrah has allegedly suffered a back stress fracture, and the BCCI has named bowler Mohammed Siraj as his stand-in for the current South Africa T20I series. 

Bumrah will now likely miss the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022, which will begin on October 16 in Australia, as well as the South Africa T20 International matches due to a stress fracture in his back, according to a new report from PTI. 

He is scheduled to arrive at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru, where the medical staff will check him and determine whether surgery is necessary. However, according to sources, he won’t be able to play for 4-6 months. 

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah. (Photo: Getty Images)

Mohammed Siraj  Replacement For Jasprit Bumrah In South Africa T20Is

Bumrah did not participate in the opening Twenty20 International against South Africa in Trivandrum because, according to skipper Rohit Sharma, he was being rested after complaining of back discomfort. 

The national selection committee has chosen pacer Mohammed Siraj, who has experience bowling in significant matches, as Bumrah’s substitute for the South Africa series. Mohammed Siraj is presently representing Warwickshire in the County Championship in England. 

Read More  Not MS Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar! KL Rahul picks South Africa great as his inspiration
Mohammed Siraj
Mohammed Siraj Credit: Getty Images)

The BCCI released the statement as stated: 

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee named Mohd. Siraj as replacement for injured Jasprit Bumrah for the remainder of the T20I series against South Africa. Bumrah has sustained a back injury and is currently under the supervision of the BCCI Medical Team.” 

Bumrah played a few T20Is against Australia after his two-month injury layoff before collapsing once more. He cannot be considered for the final two games of the South Africa series, the Indian team’s physiotherapists and medical experts have told the BCCI. 

Rohit Sharma Mohammed Siraj
Rohit Sharma Mohammed Siraj. Image: Twitter

India squad for South Africa T20Is: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohd. Siraj 

Also Read: Wasn’t Really Surprised With Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup Triumph: Sanath Jayasuriya