IND vs SA: South Africa Team Clear Covid-19 Tests, Focus Remains On Spinners Ahead Of India T20Is

South Africa
South Africa. (Photo: Twitter)

All the players of the South Africa National Cricket Team have cleared the RT PCR Covid-19 tests ahead of the five-match T20 International (T20I) series against the India National Cricket Team.

The South African players assembled at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi for the practice session after testing negative for the Covid-19.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

The five-match T20I series between India and South Africa will begin on June 9 in Delhi and the remaining games will be held in Cuttack, Visakhapatnam, Rajkot and Bengaluru respectively.

South Africa
Temba Bavuma. (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

“All the squad members have tested negative but for the IPL players who were in action till last week, they would be given a few days break ahead of the series as part of workload management,” a member of Proteas support staff told PTI on the sidelines of the net session.

South Africa Spinners In Action During Training Session

Tabraiz Shamsi
Tabraiz Shamsi. (Image Source: Twitter)

Proteas spin-bowling duo of Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj hit the “right areas” during the training session on Friday and they were being watched by Quinton de, who was sitting on the chair near the tent.

Along with Shamsi and Maharaj the batting all-rounder Aiden Markram, who bowls spin, also spent some good time doing “spot bowling”, considering spin plays a huge role in the sub-continent conditions. Also, medium-pacer Dwayne Pretorius spent a good time at the nets.

Proteas head coach Mark Boucher was spotted giving some batting tips to Marco Jansen during the training session and Rassie van der Dussen looked impressive with the bat. Also, returning Wayne Parnell was focused during his extended spell.

Meanwhile, David Miller, who recently played a pivotal role in the Indian Premier League 2022 for the Gujarat Titans (GT) and helped them win the tournament, has been given a short break ahead of the series and he is currently vacationing in the Maldives.

David Miller
David Miller. (Photo: IPL)

Complete India And South Africa T20I Squads For The Series

India: KL Rahul (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen.

Complete India vs South Africa T20 Series Schedule:

1st T20I – Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

2nd T20I – Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

3rd T20I – Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam

4th T20I – Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

5th T20I – M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Also Read: Dinesh Karthik Has Evolved As A Player: Siddarth Kaul

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score


Related Posts