Ravi Bishnoi
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Last Update on: February 17th, 2022 at 12:57 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Former Indian batter Wasim Jaffer lauded youngster Ravi Bishnoi for his startling international debut on Wednesday.

The 21-year-old had a dream debut to cherish as he returned with the figures of 4-0-17-2 against West Indies in the first T20I match in Kolkata.

Ravi Bishnoi bowled 16 dot balls on his debut against West Indies in first T20I

Bishnoi bowled 22 of his 24 deliveries as googlies in his stupendous spell where he picked the wickets of Roston Chase and Rowman Powell. The Rajasthan leg-spinner bowled 16 dot bowls even after conceding six wides in his spell.

Ravi Bishnoi
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

After West Indies saw a half of their side back in the dugout in the 14th over, wicketkeeper-batter Nicholas Pooran (61) and skipper Kieron Pollard resurrected the visitors’ innings to help them post a respectable score of 157/7 in the first innings.

Really pleased to see the way Ravi Bishnoi handled himself: Wasim Jaffer

Jaffer pointed out that Bishnoi was a bit nervous on the field before he came to bowl his spell but appreciated the youngster for handling himself well.

“Really, really pleased to see the way he handled himself in his first international game. The catch where his leg touched the rope, I think that was probably just the nervousness and when he came on to bowl, he came into his element,” Jaffer told ESPNCricinfo.

Read More  Suryakumar Yadav Can Manipulate The Field And Find Gaps- Mark Waugh
Ravi Bishnoi
Ravi Bishnoi. (Photo Credit: BCCI)

“Fine performance. [For] the first game, I think he had a dream start. And that’s what I had expected. Leg-spinners always do well against the West Indies and he did really, really well,” he added.

Bishnoi becamed the eighth Indian player to bag player of the match award on T20I debut. The leg-spinner joined the ranks of Dinesh Karthik, Subramaniam Badrinath, Pragyan Ojha, Axar Patel, Barinder Sran, Navdeep Saini and Harshal Patel to attain the feat.

India won by six wickets as Suryakumar Yadav (34*) and Venkatesh Iyer (24*) took the team to the finish line with seven balls to spare in the game.

Also Read: IND vs WI: It’s A Dream To Play For India And It Felt Good: Ravi Bishnoi