Michael Neser
Michael Neser (PC-Twitter)

When Brisbane Heat defeated Sydney Sixers by 15 runs in their Big Bash League (BBL) match on Sunday in Brisbane, Michael Neser stole the show. In addition to his three-wicket haul during Sydney’s pursuit, he also finished a brilliant but contentious catch to return Jordan Silk to the pavilion in the 19th over.

Brisbane scored 224 for five in its first 20 overs thanks to Nathan McSweeney’s 84 runs off 51 deliveries. Josh Brown managed a half-century in the meanwhile. For Sydney, Ben Dwarshuis, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, and Dan Christian each claimed one wicket.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Michael Neser
Michael Neser (PC-Twitter)

Michael Neser’s Match-Winning Catch

Sydney was bowled out for 209 runs after setting a goal of 225 runs. During the run pursuit, it appeared for a brief moment that the Sixers, led by Silk, would succeed in reaching the goal. Silk was dismissed in the 19th over after scoring 41 runs off 23 balls, including three fours and two sixes, thanks to Michael Neser’s crucial match-winning catch.

Silk blasted the ball to the left of the long-off after receiving a complete delivery and outside off. Michael Neser dashed there, sprang, and took the catch with both hands extended, and only then did he realize he was going over the ropes. Then he attempted to throw it up, but he ultimately did so over the fence. He jumped again, catching it this time before tossing it back into the game.

Michael Neser
Michael Neser (PC-Twitter)

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Replays revealed that the catch was clean as a whistle, making it a crucial moment as Sydney was 199 for 8 in the chase after 18.2 overs. The catch was reported upstairs.

ICC Gives Its Verdict On Michael Neser’s Controversial Catch

Even while the attempt received praise from many, several fans and experts questioned if the catch was legal, which sparked a lively discussion. The ICC issued their ruling in an effort to put a stop to the uproar and decided that the “batter was appropriately called out.”

In ICC in its website said, “Law 19.5.2 states: “A fielder who is not in contact with the ground is considered to be grounded beyond the boundary if his/her final contact with the ground, before his/her first contact with the ball after it has been delivered by the bowler, was not entirely within the boundary.”

“It is important to note that as long as the fielder’s first touch of the ball is inside the boundary line, they are allowed to finish the catch however they like, provided their feet are not grounded with the ball over the boundary.

“Neser’s initial contact with the ball, the timing of his jump and the eventual catch were all within the laws of the game, the batter was correctly declared out”, the ICC further added.

Also Read: IND vs SL: Sanju Samson Dropped From ODI Squad On Rohit Sharma’s Call, Selectors Wanted To Go Ahead With Sanju Over KL Rahul: Sources

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah