Mehidy Hasan
Photo Credit: (AP)

The 25-year-old Bangladesh National Cricket Team all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz has been rewarded with an all-format contract for his impressive performances in international cricket by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

Mehidy was in sensational form in the last month’s series against India and he single-handedly guided his side to the ODI series victory. Overall, he bagged 31 wickets in 8 Tests in 2022 and scored 185. In 15 ODIs, he scored 330 runs and claimed 24 wickets. Also, in T20Is he bagged 4 wickets in 6 T20Is and scored 122 runs.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

Virat Kohli, Mehidy Hasan Miraz,
Image Source – Twitter

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) recently announced a 21-member list of centrally contracted cricketers for the 2023 season and Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Shakib Al Hasan, Taskin Ahmed and Litton Das were the players included in the all-format category.

The veteran wicketkeeper-batter Mushfiqur Rahim, who was part of the all-format category for most of his career, was not given a T20I contract and he was included in the Tests and ODIs category. Shoriful Islam also failed to retain his all-format contract.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Meanwhile, there were four players – Shadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan, Naim Sheikh and Yasir Ali – who failed to retain their place on the contract list. Nazmul Hossain was included in the Tests and T20Is category and Mahmudullah was included in the newly introduced ODI category.

The young batsman Zakir Hasan and Khaled Ahmed got Test contracts while Mossadek Hossain and Hasan Mahmud are the new inclusions on the T20I contract list.

He could not deliver as per our expectation – Minhajul Abedin on Yasir Ali

Yasir Ali
Yasir Ali (Credits: ESPN)

BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin, while talking about the exclusion of Yasir Ali from the contract list, said that he didn’t perform as was expected from him.

“It’s right that he was very much part of our team across format but he could not deliver as per our expectation and that is the reason he is not been included in the central contract,” BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin told Cricbuzz.

“The other three cricketers – Joy, Shadman, Naim – also failed to fulfil our expectation,” he said. 

“We feel Zakir has a bright prospect, and as a result, we included him in the contract list for the Test category.”

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Image Credits: Twitter

List Of Centrally Contracted Players For 2023:

All formats: Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das, Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan

Tests and ODIs: Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim

Only Tests: Mominul Haque, Taijul Islam, Ebadat Hossain, Khaled Ahmed and Zakir Hasan.

Only ODIs: Mahmudullah

Test and T20Is: Nazmul Hossain and Nurul Hasan

ODIs and T20Is: Mustafizur Rahman, Afif Hossain, Shoriful Islam

Only T20Is: Mahedi Hasan, Mossadek Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud

Also Read: IND vs NZ: Watch – Rahul Dravid And Indian Coaching Staff In Splits Watching Rohit Sharma’s Fumble At The Toss

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.