BCCI. Pic Credits: Twitter.

The winners of the first Women’s Premier League bids were revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday, January 16.

The WPL franchises in Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow will be represented by teams, the BCCI announced in a tweet.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

Jay Shah on Women's IPL
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

“BCCI announces the successful bidders for Women’s Premier League. The combined bid valuation is INR 4669.99 Cr. A look at the Five franchises with ownership rights for,” BCCI tweeted.


The Women’s Premier League’s inaugural season will feature teams from Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow, among other places. The top commercial conglomerate in India, Adani Group, bought the Ahmedabad franchise through its sports arm, Adani Sportsline Pvt Ltd. With INR 1289 crore, the Ahmedabad team also received the highest bid.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Jay Shah (Image Credits: Twitter)
Jay Shah (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Mumbai franchise was purchased for an astounding INR 912.99 crores by Indiawin Sports Pvt Ltd, a subsidiary of the Reliance Group, which already owns the Mumbai Indians of the men’s Indian Premier League. The Royal Challengers company, which also owns the Bengaluru men’s club, spent INR 901 crores to win the bid for the city in the women’s T20 league.

A similar pattern was observed with the Delhi franchise, where the JSW group, owners of the men’s team Capitals, won the auction for INR 810 crore.

In the meantime, Capri Global, who paid INR 757 crores to purchase the Lucknow franchise, is the newcomer.

“Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of inaugural WPL”: BCCI secretary Jay Shah

The Women’s Premier League, which had been widely rumoured to be termed the “Women’s IPL,” was earlier named as such by BCCI secretary Jay Shah (WPL). Shah also disclosed in a series of tweets that the WPL bids have surpassed the marks set by its male counterpart in 2008.

“Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of the inaugural #WPL broke the records of the inaugural Men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in the total bid,” Shah tweeted.

“This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports fraternity. The #WPL would bring necessary reforms in women’s cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits each and every stakeholder” Jay Shah Tweeted.

“The @BCCI has named the league – Women’s Premier League (WPL). Let the journey begin….” tweeted Shah.

Viacom 18 acquired the Women’s Premier League media rights earlier this month for a five-year period (2023-27). For the initial five iterations of the eagerly anticipated competition, Viacom committed INR 951 crore.