Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav [PC: AP]

Last Update on: August 27th, 2023 at 09:15 pm

Former Australia National Cricket Team World Cup winner Tom Moody has picked India’s 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 and there was no place for the No.1 ranked T20I batsman Suryakumar Yadav in his team.

Suryakumar Yadav is one of the most dangerous batters in T20 cricket in the world. He currently occupies the top spot in the ICC Men’s T20I Batting Rankings and is not expected to lose the spot anytime soon.

Although Suryakumar Yadav has dominated in 20-over cricket, he has failed to replicate his performance in 50-over cricket for India. Despite being given consistent chances, he has scored just 511 runs in 26 ODIs at an average of 24.3, with just two fifties.

Meanwhile, in a video shared by Star Sports on their social media handles, Tom Moody was asked to pick his India squad for the World Cup. The former Australian World Cup winner Tom Moody said that India have got one of the hardest tasks to finalize their 15-man squad for the tournament.

“Looking at India’s squad of 15 for this year’s World Cup in October, I believe India have got probably one of the hardest tasks in finalizing their 15 out of all the playing nations in the World Cup,” he said.

Tom Moody Includes Yuzvendra Chahal In His India Squad For World Cup; Ignores Suryakumar Yadav

Tom Moody started off by picking his four batters in the India squad and he named Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Shreyas Iyer as his top-4.

Moody didn’t include Suryakumar Yadav in his team, most likely due to his poor ODI form. He then picked KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan as two wicketkeeper-batters in the playing XI. Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel were picked as two spin-bowling all-rounders in Moody’s team while Hardik Pandya and Shardul Thakur were pace-bowling all-rounders.

He concluded by naming his pace trio, which consisted of Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Jasprit Bumrah, and two wrist-spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Tom Moody’s India Squad For World Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Shardul Thakur, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav

Sonanchal GautamAssistant Content Manager

Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.