India Vs England 2021: England Announce 14-Men Squad For The ODI Series

India Vs England 2021: England Announce 14-Men Squad For The ODI Series

England Cricket Team [Image-Getty]

England and Wales Cricket Board, on Sunday, announced the 14-men squad for the upcoming three-match One-day International series between world champions England and hosts India, starting in Pune from March 23.

The 14-men touring party will be without their pace-bowling spearhead Jofra Archer who has been ruled out due to his right elbow injury. The fast bowling in Archer’s absence will be led by Durham pacer Mark Wood, Reece Topley, and the all-round trio of Curran brothers- Sam and Tom- and Ben Stokes.

Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali will lead the spin-bowling arena while spin-bowling all-rounder Liam Livingstone has also found a place in the squad as has Matt Parkinson.

Test captain Joe Root does not find a place in the touring party due to workload management. The batting-unit boasts of usual suspects like Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, captain Eoin Morgan, wicketkeeper Jos Buttler, and Sam Billings.

Three additional players- Dawid Malan, Chris Jordan, and Jake Ball- will also travel with the squad as cover.

England Cricket Team [Image-Getty]
The three-match One-day International series between India and England will be played at the Maharashtra Cricket Stadium in Pune on March 23, 26, and 28 respectively. All three matches will be played behind closed doors due to the ongoing Covid-19 situation in Maharashtra.

The ODI series will be the last chance for England to take something out of what has been a disappointing tour of India. After losing the Test series by a margin of 1-3, England failed to seize the initiative in the five-match T20I series despite taking a 2-1 lead. The Eoin Morgan-led unit went on to lose the last two games to hand India the Trophy.

This will be the first time in four years that England will play ODI cricket in India. The last time they locked horns with India in the subcontinent, they lost the three-match rubber by 2-1. England, however, has won four of the last five ODIs that they’ve played against India, the last of which came during the 2019 World Cup.

Also Read- For India To Win The T20 World Cup It’s Necessary That Jasprit Bumrah And Bhuvneshwar Kumar Do Well – Aakash Chopra

England’s 14-men squad for the ODI series against India:

Eoin Morgan [C], Jos Buttler [WK], Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Ben Stokes, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Liam Livingstone, Matt Parkinson, Mark Wood, Reece Topley

Reserve players: Dawid Malan, Chris Jordan, and Jake Ball

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.