Shane Watson
Shane Watson. Image: IANS.

Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson opened up on losing the 2016 IPL final to Sunrisers Hyderabad in a nail-biting encounter.

David Warner-led Sunrisers Hyderabad outplayed RCB by eight runs to clinch their maiden IPL title.

RCB had a tremendous season with skipper Virat Kohli leading from the front with an incredible 973 runs in 16 matches at an average of 81.08.

Ben Cutting smashed Shane Watson three sixes in the final over

In the final clash, RCB had kept things under control but SRH all-rounder Ben Cutting’s 15-ball 39 helped them to post a commendable 208 on the board.

Virat Kohli and David Warner During IPL 2016 final
Virat Kohli and David Warner During IPL 2016 Final (Image Credit: Twitter)

Cutting hammered Watson for 23 runs – three sixes and a four – in five balls in the final over.

RCB started their chase on a flier with those brisk hitting by Chris Gayle (76) and Virat Kohli (54) in their 114-run opening stand.

However, things didn’t fall in line after the duo departed as SRH clawed their way back to script a marvelous comeback. RCB faltered in their chase as they could manage to score 59 runs in the last seven overs and lost five wickets in that period.

I was just shattered about the 2016 final: Shane Watson

Six seasons after the close defeat, Watson, who is currently with Delhi Capitals as an assistant coach, said he felt shattered to concede too many runs in that over as he knew what the game was to RCB and Kohli.

The 2016 final which I played with RCB was something I was just shattered about. Because I know how much it meant to RCB to win that final. It was at home at Chinnaswamy. RCB had played so well all year, at the backend of that tournament in particular,” Watson said on the Delhi Capitals podcast.

Shane Watson, Virat Kohli
Shane Watson, Virat Kohli. Image: Twitter

“Virat in particular was on fire. It was his chance, one of the greatest players, to win that elusive IPL title as captain. And bowling that one over just shattered me. It just got it wrong and I felt like the end of time,” he added.

Watson has, however, won IPL trophies with Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural season and Chennai Super Kings in 2018. In the 2018 IPL final, Watson steered CSK to their third title with a scintillating unbeaten 117.

Also Read: IPL 2022: Mitchell Marsh Has Only Got His Best Years In Front Of Him – Shane Watson