KKR vs SRH: Abhishek Sharma pleads CSK fans to cheer for Hyderabad in IPL Final 2024

Published - 26 May 2024, 12:51 PM | Updated - 26 May 2024, 12:56 PM

Abhishek Sharma
Abhishek Sharma (Credits: Getty)

Sunrisers Hyderabad's explosive opening batter Abhishek Sharma has made a special request to all the CSK fans to come and support them in the IPL 2024 final. 

Pat Cummins' Orange Army will be taking on Shreyas Iyer's Kolkata Knight Riders in the Ultimate showdown at the MA Chidambaram stadium in Chennai. With the finale taking place at the home ground of reigning champions Chennai Super Kings, Abhishek Sharma wants all the local supporters to come in and cheer for SRH. 

Abhishek Sharma wants CSK fans to support their neighboring South-Indian franchise 

Abhishek Sharma, who has had a massive influence with his batting this season, asked if the CSK supporters could become SRH fans for just one night. Since Chennai is not in the finals and SRH are actually representing the South Indian part of the country, the left-hand batter made quite a sensible appeal. 

After all, SRH are facing a KKR team which had handed a shock defeat to CSK 12 years ago in the IPL 2012 finale at the very same Chepauk stadium. The Knight Riders, who finished IPL 2024 league stages on top of the table, have the chance to repeat the history yet again by winning their 3rd IPL title.  

So some of the CSK fans will not be wanting to see Gautam Gambhir become an IPL champion once again on their home turf. Therefore, supporting their South-Indian neighbors remains the only option for them. 

"I know in Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have got a massive fan following here. I would request all the CSK fans to come and support us in the final." - Abhishek Sharma said in an SRH video. 

It will be interesting to see if Abhishek Sharma's request for support to SRH is granted by the CSK fans or not.

But one thing is certain, if the Sunrisers want to win their 2nd IPL title, Sharma and his partner in crime Travis Head will have to come out all guns blazing. Perhaps one last time this season, the leftie duo have to cause a carnage with their bats which remained quiet in the knockouts.    

Abhishek Sharma has scored just 15 runs from his appearances in the 1st and 2nd Qualifier matches. Travis Head, on the other hand, departed for a 2-ball duck against KKR in the 1st Qualifier and departed for 34 runs in the 2nd Qualifier against Rajasthan Royals. So for SRH to win the richest T20 tournament in the world for a second time, a lot will depend on Abhishek and Travis' performances. 

Pat Cummins set to become 4th Australian to win the IPL 

If the Sunrisers Hyderabad wins the IPL title tonight, then Pat Cummins will become the 4th Australian to win the Indian Premier League title as the captain. Previously, Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist, and David Warner have all won the richest T20 league as captains of Rajasthan Royals (2008), Deccan Chargers (2009) and Hyderabad (2016). 

Will Shreyas Iyer bury the demons of the 2020 final loss against Mumbai Indians or will Pat Cummins continue his title-winning spree? Time will tell.