Kyle Jamieson Named New Zealand's 'Cricketer Of The Year'

Kyle Jamieson Named New Zealand’s ‘Cricketer Of The Year’

Kyle Jamieson
Kyle Jamieson (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Zealand seamer Kyle Jamieson has won the 2021 edition of the Players’ Cap- an award which is given to the player who has been voted as New Zealand’s ‘Cricketer of the Year’ by the players and support staff.

Jamieson, who made his international debut across all three formats in 2020, has had a fairytale start to his career, especially in  Test cricket.

The right-arm pacer has claimed as many as 36 wickets in six Tests at an average of 13.28 with four 5-wicket-hauls and a ten-for. Besides that, the lanky fast bowler has also smashed 226 runs at an average of 56.5 which also includes one half-century.

Kyle Jamieson
Kyle Jamieson (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Zealand’s Cricket Players Association said that the voting was a closely contested affair but ‘Jamieson’s impact across the Test format in particular’ meant he edged out fellow performers in rookie Devon Conway and skipper Kane Williamson.


‘This is pretty special’- Kyle Jamieson

Kyle Jamieson reflected on the ‘special 12 months’ and thanked his teammates for his seamless integration in the side.

“It’s been a special 12 months being part of this group and thanks to everyone for making it such an easy team to fit into. This is pretty special and not something that I expected at all. There have been some great guys who have won this before and being recognized by your peers is the ultimate,’’ said Kyle Jamieson as quoted by Cricinfo.

Kyle Jamieson
Kyle Jamieson (Image Credit: Twitter)

He also picked his favorite Test win that he has been a part of in the past 12 months.

“The wins are what I enjoy most, that Bay Oval Test was a special one going into day five – my first day five match – and just being part of that Test victory is what I value the most.” he said while reminiscing New Zealand’s memorable win against Pakistan in the closing stages of the first Test at the Bay Oval late last year.

Jamieson received the award from the soon retiring BJ Watling who said:

‘’This cap is a special award as it reflects those moments that often go unnoticed, but as a team we understand those small margins that go to winning games. The really great thing is the guys coming in are contributing to our team, and this year Kyle has certainly been one of those guys who has come in and taken his chances and opportunities from the get go, and I am sure we will see him here receiving many more Players’ Caps.” 

By winning the coveted award, Jamieson has joined the elite list which includes Brendon McCullum (2012), Tim Southee (2013 & 2020), Ross Taylor (2014 & 2019), Kane Williamson (2015, 2016 & 2017) and Trent Boult, who won in 2018.

Also Read: 3 Teams Which Can Target Kyle Jamieson In IPL 2022 Auction

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.