Anurag Thakur
Anurag Thakur. Image-The Bridge

Last Update on: April 26th, 2023 at 03:58 pm

Union Minister Anurag Thakur responded to India’s participation in the upcoming edition of the Asia Cup in Pakistan during a media interaction on Sunday. Anurag Thakur’s announcement came amid tensions between the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) over hosting the multinational tournament in Pakistan.

PCB chief Najam Sethi threatened to boycott the 2023 ODI World Cup if India didn’t come to Pakistan for the Asia Cup. Earlier, the BCCI secretary and the ACC president, Jay Shah made an announcement that Indian players will not travel to Pakistan for the continental tournament and that the Asia Cup 2023 will be held at a neutral venue.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Anurag Thakur said that the BCCI will take the call on travelling to their neighbouring country for the Asia Cup, which is scheduled to be played in Pakistan in September.

“Let the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) take a call on Indian team’s participation in Asia Cup first, then only the sports ministry and home ministry will decide,” Thakur told reporters.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

The Central Government Is Focused On The Promotion Of Sports – Anurag Thakur

Thakur said the central government plans to take Indian sports to a new level by organizing 1,000 Khelo India centres by August 15 and has already sanctioned 945 centres.

“As of now we have sanctioned 945 Khelo India centers and before August 15 the government will achieve the target of 1,000 such centers across the country. Our goal is to start at least one Khelo India center in each district,” he said.

“The central government is focused on the promotion of sports. In 2014, the 900 crore sports budget rose to 3,397 crores. Even the five-year plan of Khelo India Youth Games (KIYG) has been extended to another five years,” Thakur added.

Also read: IPL 2023: Deepak Chahar Makes Huge Claim About MS Dhoni’s Retirement Plans Ahead Of Upcoming Season

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah