Mukesh Kumar
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Indian pacer Mukesh Kumar had a narrow escape from what could have been a serious injury heading into the fourth T20I against Australia in Raipur. Mukesh made a comeback into the Indian squad after missing the third T20I due to his marriage.

He joined the Indian team in Raipur ahead of the fourth T20I and hit the practice grounds straightaway. He had a chat with bowling coach Sairaj Bahutule before beginning his training session.

However, he seemed to have been hit near the eye after some time which left him down with pain. He returned back to the dressing room immediately and was seen wrapping a wet towel around the injured area. However, he came back soon after with a smile and after a brief interaction with Bahutule went back to bowling at the nets.

Also Read: IND vs AUS Weather Report Live Today And Pitch Report Of Raipur Stadium – 4th T20I, 2023

Mukesh Kumar Rejoins India Squad After Marriage

Mukesh is one of the four specialist seamers available for selection ahead of the fourth T20I. The pacer who is being seen as a death overs specialist is likely to replace Prasidh Krishna in the fourth game. Prasidh went for 68 runs in the third T20I which included a 21-run 20th over that allowed Australia to win the match.

Read More  'Captain Virat Kohli added real competitiveness and toughness to Team India' - Alastair Cook

Glenn Maxwell’s unbeaten ton helped the Aussies to keep the series alive. The series is now well poised with Australia’s timely comeback into the series. A win for Australia in Raipur will take the series to the decider in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Shreyas Iyer returns to the squad for the final two games as the vice-captain. It will be interesting to see who sits out with Iyer’s return. Deepak Chahar who joined the team ahead of the third T20I is now available for selection for the fourth. Addressing the pre-match presser, Ravi Bishnoi spoke about clinching the series in Raipur itself.

Meanwhile, with Raipur all set to host its first T20I, the state association has arranged for a laser show once the match concludes for the fans.

India Squad For Last Two T20Is Against Australia

Suryakumar Yadav (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube

Also Read: “Shreyas Iyer’s Arrival Will Create A Huge Difference In Batting Lineup” : Ravi Bishnoi Ahead Of 4th T20I

Read More  RCB Women vs Delhi Capitals Women Match Preview- WPL 2024, Match 7

Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.