Netherlands And Zimbabwe Qualify For The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 In Australia

Updated - 15 Jul 2022, 11:21 PM

Netherlands And Zimbabwe Qualify For The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 In Australia
Netherlands And Zimbabwe Qualify For The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 In Australia

After defeating USA and PNG in the semifinals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B, respectively, Netherlands and Zimbabwe secured their spots in the 2022 tournament.

After holding the Americans to 138 runs in 19.4 overs, the Netherlands defeated the USA by seven wickets to advance to the final. At the same time, Zimbabwe defeated the tenacious PNG by 27 runs.

Netherlands Cricket Team
Netherlands Cricket Team PC- Twitter

United States of America vs Netherlands

For the USA, which wanted to compete in their first ever international ICC competition, it was the perfect beginning. With a 51-run opening partnership from just five overs, the in-form Steven Taylor and captain Monank Patel set the stage for success. Taylor, who fell for 26 – his lowest score in the tournament thus far, was the first victim for the Netherlands thanks to an essential wicket by Paul van Meekeren. Sadly for the USA, the wicket brought about a collapse. In the end, the US could manage only 138 runs and didn’t play their full 20 overs.

The Netherlands did stutter a bit in their chase but a brilliant knock by Bas de Leede in the middle saw the Netherlands through to the final.

Zimbabwe National Cricket Team
Image Source: Twitter

Zimbabwe VS Papua New Guinea

The tournament’s organisers Zimbabwe’s decision to have a bat first proved fruitful. The experienced duo of Regis Chakabva and skipper Craig Ervine got things going well, with the former taking an aggressive approach. Vital contributions from the middle order helped Zimbabwe post 199 runs in their 20 overs. Papua New Guinea in their chase kept losing wickets at regular intervals and even though Tony Ura tried his best to keep his team in the chase he too was dismissed.

Tony Ura
Tony Ura

Netherlands and Zimbabwe are the final two teams who have qualified for the T20 WC in Australia and will play in the first round.

Ireland and UAE had qualified for the event earlier this year while Scotland and Namibia had qualified courtesy of qualifying to the super 12 stages in the last year’s T20 WC hosted by India in the UAE.

Also Read: ENG vs IND: It Seemed Like Rishabh Pant Had Premeditated His Shot In 2nd ODI – Pragyan Ojha


The Netherlands national cricket team Zimbabwe National Cricket Team