Champion off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin swallowed yet another left-handed batsman in the form of Devon Conway (19 off 47 balls) to give India their second breakthrough in the final session of the World Test Championship.
It all happened on the second ball of the 17th over when Devon Conway, in an attempt to defend the ball outside the line, was undone by the drift.
As a result, the ball smashed his front pad and the umpire had no hesitation in raising his finger.
Conway had a discussion with skipper Kane Williamson as to whether he should take a review or not but eventually he decided against it and walked back to the pavilion.
It was a right call by Devon Conway as the ball tracking confirmed that the ball would have pitched in line and smashed the middle stump.
Conway’s dismissal was Ashwin’s second wicket of the innings. The right-arm spinner had earlier got rid of Tom Latham for the 6th time in as many innings when the latter went for an ill-fated hoike across the line and was easily stumped by Rishabh Pant.