Asia Cup 2018, Match 4: India vs Hong Kong - Toss Report

Asia Cup 2018, Match 4: India vs Hong Kong – Toss Report

Hong Kong won the toss and decided to bowl first against India in the fourth match of the Asia Cup, set to be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium , Dubai.

Here is what the captains said:

Rohit Sharma:

“Getting used to the conditions as quickly as possible is needed in this part of the world. We are ready for and the boys are ready to do. Asia Cup has a long history over the years and it’s a competitive tournament. You got to put your best foot forward. A lot of guys are playing for the first time. It’s exciting for them and me as well. It has been one of the concerns over the years. Our batting has dominated but our bowling has come a long way in recent times. I am quite excited with our middle order and it’s a challenge for all of us to bat in such conditions.”

Anshuman Rath:

“We will have a bowl first. We want to get out there as bowling is our strength. I think the way we batted against Pakistan, we want to rectify that. Bowling is our strength and we’ll look to go out there with a smile. There’s a bit of grass so chasing is easier under the lights.”


Hong Kong’s return to the Asia Cup for the first time since 2008 was a forgettable one. Not much was expected from them when they took on Pakistan in their opener but then again such a meek performance was also not expected especially after they made it to the main event through the qualifying event.

Batting first, they lost wickets at regular intervals and were eventually all out for just 116. The score was never going to challenge Pakistan as they chased it down with utmost ease.

Well, the minnows face yet another herculean task in their slim bid of surviving in the tournament as they are up against India, the most successful team in the history of the Asia Cup. India face Pakistan tomorrow and willing be looking to tick all the boxes before the big clash.

Playing elevens:


Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(w), Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal

Hong Kong:

Nizakat Khan, Anshuman Rath(c), Babar Hayat, Christopher Carter, Kinchit Shah, Ehsan Khan, Aizaz Khan, Scott McKechnie(w), Tanwir Afzal, Ehsan Nawaz, Nadeem Ahmed


An avid cricket lover, I just love this game more than anything. Writing about cricket keeps me closer to the game.