Clive Llyod, Knighthood, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root
Clive Lloyd. Credits: Twitter

Last Update on: February 28th, 2020 at 06:11 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

The legendary Clive Lloyd is all set to receive knighthood alongside several members of the 2019 World Cup-winning squad of England. The players will be honoured for their service to cricket as the part of the New Year’s Honours List. Clive Lloyd will join the likes of Sir Gary Sobers, Sir Everton Weekes and Sir Viv Richards to receive this accolade.

Lloyd was the captain of the West Indies side which consist the players like Sir Viv Richards, Holding, Marshal, Haynes, Greenidge and others. Though all the players have been remarkable with their skills, skipper Clive Lloyd helped his team to walk on the single path by removing all the cultural differences among the players.

Clive Lloyd
Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Read More: Trent Boult Ruled Out Of The Remainder Of The Test Series

Clive Lloyd Led West Indies to Two World Cup victories:

Lloyd first played international cricket for West Indies in a Test against India at Mumbai in 1966. He scored 82 and 78 respectively in both innings of his debut match to help his side bag a victory. In 1974-75, Clive was handed the captaincy of the team in the series against India. During his captaincy era, West Indies was undefeatable.

He led them to consecutive World Cup title wins in 1975 and 1979. In the 1983 edition, they lost to the Indians in the final. Even after the retirement, Clive Lloyd remained close to the game with the various roles. He worked as the West Indies’ manager during the 1990s and was also associated with commentary and coaching. Clive Lloyd also served as an ICC match referee from 2001-2006.

Read More  IND vs AUS Head-to-Head Records In ODIs- 2nd ODI, Australia Tour Of India 2023
Ben Stokes, England national cricket team
Photo: Getty

Apart from Clive Lloyd, Eoin Morgan (Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire), Ben Stokes (Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire), Joe Root and Jos Buttler (Most Excellent Order of the British Empire) are the other players who will be honoured for their service to cricket.

Read More – Ben Stokes Wins BBC Sports Personality of the year

The World Cup-winning coach Trevor Bayliss will be awarded an OBE while ECB chairman Colin Graves will collect a CBE after being at the helm of the board over the last five years. Alan Knott, the former England wicketkeeper, will become an MBE while former Windies cricketer Gordon Greenidge, will receive the order of St Michael and St George Knight Commander.



I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!