World Cup
England won the last 50-over World Cup (Credits: Twitter)

The cricket World Cup came to an end on Sunday with an exhilarating final between hosts England and New Zealand. The title-decider went right down to the wire before the ICC rules favoured the hosts. Both England and New Zealand scored 241 in their 50 overs. Ben Stokes had the chance to win it for England when his side needed 2 from the final ball.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

However, he could score just one and was run-out while taking the double. In the super over, England scored 15. Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler hit one boundary each to guide their team to a good score.In reply, New Zealand started really well. The first ball was a wide before James Neesham took a double.

World Cup
World Cup (Credits: Twitter)

On the second ball, he hammered Jofra Archer for a maximum to put New Zealand on top. With seven needed from four balls, New Zealand were the favourites to win the thrilling clash. The equation was finally down to 2 runs from the last delivery.

Also Read: MS Dhoni’s Parents Don’t Want Him To Play Anymore, Says His Childhood Coach

But Martin Guptill was run-out while he was trying to take a non-existing double. With neither the first 100 overs nor the super overs being able to decide the winners, England were declared the winners for hitting more number of boundaries. England hit 26 boundaries in the match while New Zealand hit 17.

With the tournament done and dusted now, here we take a look at the prize money and how it compares to that of FIFA World Cup.

The total prize money for the Cricket World Cup is $10 million (Rs 69.6 crore). The winner received $4 million and the runners-up took home $2 million, the highest ever purse for a cricket world cup. The losing semi-finalists got $800,000 each.

But while this is the highest ever amount received by the teams after a World Cup, it is much less than what the football teams took home from the last World Cup. Last year, FIFA World Cup champions France pocketed a whopping amount of $38 million in prize money while runners-up Croatia took home $28 million in prize money.

The total prize money in the last FIFA World Cup was $400 million, far more than $10 million distributed in the cricket World Cup.