Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21

Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21

Big Bash League. Credits - Cricket Australia.

Cricket Australia has made changes to the schedule of the 2020 edition of Big Bash League (BBL), scheduled to get underway on the 10th of December. The revised itinerary of the Australian extravaganza allows all the KFC BBL local clubs to host matches in the local markets, considering the global health crisis and border restrictions. The Big Bash League took to its official Twitter handle to announce it.

Also Read: David Warner Vows To Keep His Composure And Not Respond To Sledging Attempts

The Big Bash League’s revised schedule has come up in consultation with governments, clubs, state and territory associations and broadcast partners to ensure the safety of participants and the community at large. Along with Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory, Queensland and South Australia will stage matches in December while Western Australia, Victoria, and New South Wales will do in January.

The Optus Stadium in Perth will host five matches, the first of which would take place on the 3rd of January. Four of those fixtures would be three-time title winners’ Perth Scorchers’ home games, ensuring they experience the joy of the extravaganza. The Sydney Cricket Ground and Sydney Showground Stadium will stage four matches while Marvel and Melbourne Cricket Ground have been awarded 11 games.

Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21
MCG [Photo-Getty]
The likes of Adelaide Oval, Gabba, Metricon Stadium, and Blundstone Arena will also have 11 matches in their share collectively. The authorities are also closely monitoring the situation in South Australia, which witnessed fresh COVID-19 cases emerging in recent times. One of the most significant changes is the structure of playoffs, which will have five fixtures before the final. The teams will compete in the Eliminator, Qualifier, Knockout, and the Challenger to go through to the tournament decider.

Cricket Australia Announces Revised Schedule For Big Bash League (BBL) 2020-21
Sydney Sixers are the defending champions. (Credits: Twitter)

Alistair Dobson, who is Cricket Australia’s head of Big Bash League, is thrilled to announce the boldest schedule in the Australian sport since the pandemic committed take matches to every club’s home market in BBL 2020. Dobson claimed that the plan is a testament to the strength and flexibility of the tournament, which also ensures that fans get to enjoy the same. Alistair also thanked the relevant stakeholders in place for their unparalleled contributions and hopes for the competition to be successful.

“The League is delighted to confirm the boldest schedule in Australian sport since the pandemic began by committing to take matches to every club’s home market in KFC BBL|10. This schedule is a testament to the strength of the League and ensures our fans around the country will get the chance to see their KFC BBL Clubs in action on home soil. We’d like to thank all federal, state and territory governments, our KFC BBL clubs, state and territory associations, the players and Australian Cricketers’ Association, broadcasters Seven, Foxtel, Kayo, SEN and commercial partners KFC, BKT, Toyota and Sanitarium for their support as we deliver a safe and successful competition for our fans across the country,” Dobson claimed as quoted by Big Bash League.

Below is the revised schedule of BBL 2020-21: