Loading Posts...

List of five most successful captains in the history of IPL

Jofra Archer CSK MS Dhoni
Chennai Super Kings will be lead by MS Dhoni in its overall ninth edition. Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI.

In any sports, every team needs a leader who can guide the team in any kind of a situation and lead them towards victory. Interestingly, IPL has set the benchmark for the youngsters to rose to the occasion.

Every player and team always plays to win and in certain situations, more than the skills of the players, the leadership qualities of the captains come into play.

Especially in a sport like a cricket, where a captain’s say is given utmost importance and a false decision can affect the result of a game in a major manner.

The rise of Twenty20 cricket has seen a lot of improvisation be it bowling, batting or fielding. The shortest format of the game has also brought some improvisation in the captaincy methods of the new generation. And IPL has set a massive example.

IPL 2018, IPL Auction 2018, Chris Woakes, D'Archy Short, IPL 11, Bengaluru

Image Courtesy: IPL

Thanks to the Indian Premier League (IPL), which has given players and captains from all around the globe such great exposure. The first decade of the illustrious league has given fans some great memories both on and off the field.

Similarly, some players have given their best to lead from the front and have set some high standards.

Let’s have a look at the five most successful captains in the history of IPL:

  1. Shane Warne:

(M- 55, W- 30, L- 24, T-1, W%-55.45%) 

Rajasthan Royals

Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals to victory in the inaugural edition of IPL. (Photo Credit: Getty Images)

Some of the legendary cricketers have described Shane Warne as the ‘Greatest Captain Australia Never Had’.

Warne is unarguably the greatest leg-spinner of all time and his records are intriguing, which will stay in his name for a long time.

Warnie, as he is widely known for leaving a significant impact, has 708 wickets to his name in 145 Tests.

However, despite these great numbers, Warne never got an opportunity to lead his national side on the permanent basis.

Warne led Australia in 11 matches and won 10 out of them. He led Rajasthan Royals in the first three seasons of the IPL which included a historic triumph in the inaugural season of the league.

  1. Gautam Gambhir:

(M -123, W-70, L-52, T-1, W%-57.31) 

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir led KKR to IPL title twice. Image Courtesy: Twitter

Just like Shane Warne, left-handed opening batsman Gautam Gambhir never got an opportunity to lead the Indian side.

Gambhir has led Kolkata Knight Riders to two IPL triumphs in 2012 and 2014 respectively. Before coming to the Kolkata-based franchise, he led Delhi Daredevils in the initial few seasons.

Gambhir has again been picked by Delhi Daredevils and will most likely lead the side in the upcoming season.

  1. MS Dhoni:

(M-143, W-83, L-59, T-0, NR-1, W%-58.45) 

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, IPL Auction 2018, India Cements, RTMs, Chennai Super Kings,

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was reappointed as the skipper for CSK after 2015. Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI

MS Dhoni is the only captain in international to have won all the three ICC’s coveted trophies. Dhoni has led Chennai Super Kings in every season and also led Rising Pune Supergiants in one of the two seasons he played for them.

Dhoni led Chennai to two consecutive IPL titles in 2010 and 2011. He also won two Champions League T20 titles in 2010 and 2014.

With CSK coming back in the league after two-year suspension after the fallout, Dhoni is all set to lead the franchise.

  1. Sachin Tendulkar:

(M-51, W – 30, L – 21, T – 0, W% – 58.82) 

Sachin Tendulkar

Image Courtesy: Twitter

Sachin Tendulkar is one of the greatest batsmen to have featured in the gentleman’s game. However, he never had a successful career as a captain of the Indian side.

The legendary batsman Tendulkar was appointed the captain of India twice and failed miserably in both his stints.

But this was not the case in the IPL where he led Mumbai Indians in four seasons (2008-2011). He could not lead the side to victory in any of the seasons but had a high win percentage.

However, Tendulkar led them to the playoffs in the 2011 season after which he gave up on captaincy and became the mentor. However, he did manage to win the Champions League T20 title in 2011.

  1. Rohit Sharma:

(M- 75, W-45, L-29, T-1, W%-60.66)

IPL 2018, VIV0, Brand Ambassador, Aamir Khan, Ranveer Singh

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians are the reigning champions of IPL. Photo Credit: Getty Images

Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in the Indian Premier League as he has led the Mumbai based franchise to three IPL titles in 2013, 2015 and 2017.

No other team has won the league three times other than Mumbai Indians and all that came under Sharma’s leadership.

Sharma was appointed as a skipper of the franchise in 2013 and he won the league in the very first season.

Here’s the news feed:

Five Pakistani Batsmen Who Could Fetch Big in the Indian Premier League

Vaughan Perplexed About How a Player like Martin Guptill Went Unsold in Indian Premier League


Ardent Sports lover, Cricket fanatic, Manchester United fan(GGMU), Roger Federer over Rafael Nadal

Loading Posts...