ICC World Cup 2019: Lucky Enough To Get A Direct Hit From There – Martin Guptill On MS Dhoni’s Dismissal
It is a game of inches. Inches that determine the loss and the win. Inches that can make all the difference in the game. And those couple inches were good enough to rule India out of the World Cup. India’s former skipper MS Dhoni was run out by Martin Guptill in the semifinal of the World Cup that turned India’s hope into despair.
Lockie Ferguson had bowled a bouncer to MS Dhoni and there was a chance to scamper through for the second. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was the non-striker and India needed another 25 out off 11 balls. Dhoni knew that the game was on him but Martin Guptill was able to hit the bullseye when it mattered the most.
Dhoni could have taken India over the line.
In fact, Guptill has had a mundane tournament with the bat. However, he was able to get his throw right when he had only one stump to aim at. But Guptill also acknowledged that he had the rub of the green on his side.
WHAT A MOMENT OF BRILLIANCE!
— ICC (@ICC) July 10, 2019
“I actually thought that the ball was not coming to me. In fact, I tried to get to the ball as quick as I could and luckily I was able to hit the stumps from there”, Martin Guptill said on ICC Twitter handle.
MS Dhoni was a huge wicket for New Zealand as the veteran batsman had the skills to take India over the line. Dhoni has always been superb in the run-chase and he was the only standing between New Zealand and the final after Ravindra Jadeja was dismissed for 77 runs.
Dhoni had smashed the first ball of the penultimate over for a six and thus India’s was hopeful of getting over the line as long as the talisman was at the crease. However, New Zealand’s best fielder was at the right place at the right time.
"Lucky enough to get a direct hit from out there" – New Zealand's @Martyguptill on his ⚡ ️throw to dismiss MS Dhoni in the #CWC19 semi-final against India. #BackTheBlackCaps pic.twitter.com/GnerDahQgQ
— ICC (@ICC) July 11, 2019