Kohli has not lost an ODI series as captain

India have announced their 15-member squad for the One Day International series against New Zealand which begins on 22nd October in Mumbai.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

All India senior selection committee has made some changes from the previous team that played against Australia, Virat Kohli is the captain while Dinesh Karthik and Shardul Thakur are the new members in the team.

Dinesh last played for India in the limited overs format back in July against West Indies, he was dropped from the ODI series against Australia but got a call-up for the T20s but couldn’t get any chance to play.

Meanwhile, the 25-year old Shardul Thakur who recently made his debut against Sri Lanka is picked for the ODIs against New Zealand.

India will be playing three-match ODI series against the Kiwi team which will be followed by the T20 series. Lokesh Rahul has been dropped from the team without getting a single opportunity to perform.

Shardul Thakur has been given the opportunity once again for his brilliance with the ball in the domestic circuit, as he will help Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah in the fast-bowling department.

The main highlight if this squad is that the duo of Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja has been once again overlooked and termed rested for the limited overs fixtures. Both of the spinners are a part of their Ranji team currently, Jadeja in his first game is batting unbeaten on 150 after day 1 of round two of the Ranji Trophy.

Here’s the 15-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against New Zealand:

India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Wicket Keeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yazuvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.