IPL 2020: AB de Villiers Breaks Chris Gayle's Record Of The Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History

IPL 2020: AB de Villiers Breaks Chris Gayle’s Record Of The Most Man Of The Match Awards In IPL History

AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers [Photo-Twitter]

On Tuesday night, the world witnessed another desert storm in Sharjah as the South-African superman of cricket, AB de Villiers ran riots with his bat against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). It was due to his mammoth effort that Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) recorded their 5th win of the tournament and climbed to the 3rd spot in the IPL 2020 points table.

RCB took on KKR in match 28 of IPL 2020 at the Sharjah International Cricket Stadium. Batting first, RCB posted a total of 194 runs in their 1st innings, thanks to an AB de Villiers showdown where the veteran Proteas batsman smashed 73 runs in just 33 balls to see his side finish on a high in the first innings.

AB de Villiers
AB de Villiers [Photo-Twitter]
The RCB bowlers did the job in the second innings as they combined together to clinch 9 wickets of Kolkata Knight Riders for only 112 runs in the 20 overs. In this manner, RCB beat KKR by a gigantic margin of 82 runs. AB de Villiers got the Man of the Match award for his breath-taking knock.

AB de Villiers Shatters Yet Another Record

AB de Villiers won his 22nd man-of-the-match award in the Indian Premier League post his heroics against KKR on Tuesday. AB de Villiers has now broken Kings XI Punjab opener Chris Gayle’s record for most man-of-the-match awards by any player in the history of IPL.

Photo Credit: BCCI/IPL.

Most Man of the Match Awards in IPL history:

AB de Villiers: 22
Chris Gayle: 21
Rohit Sharma: 18
David Warner: 17
MS Dhoni: 17
Shane Watson: 16

RCB Cruising Towards The IPL 2020 Playoffs

The Royal Challengers Bangalore are now cruising to the IPL 2020 playoffs with the spot well within their reach. 3 wins in the next seven games will ensure RCB’s spot in the playoffs. Apart from them, Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals are also within touching distance to qualify for the playoffs this year.

Shreyas Iyer, Delhi Capitals
Delhi Capitals. [Photo-Twitter]
These three have emerged as the most promising teams of the tournament so far, having had an exceptional run. They have been balanced in their approach and they have not made many changes sticking to the plans. The most shocking element this season has been CSK‘s form as the 3-time IPL champions have looked all the more sluggish in the tournament so far. It will be interesting to see how the teams tackle the pressure in the coming days.

Priyam Singh

I Wake Up Watching Cricket And Go To Bed Watching Football. Everything In Between Includes Lawn Tennis, Wrestling, Basketball, Formula 1, And Badminton. I Write To Make A Living And I Manage To Make My Organization In Making A Living.