Kolkata Knight Riders Announce Their Captain For IPL 2020

Kolkata Knight Riders Announce Their Captain For IPL 2020

KKR. Image Credits: Twitter

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have confirmed Dinesh Karthik as their captain for the next season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). After the franchise bought Eoin Morgan for Rs 5.25 Crore, there were expectations that there might be a change in the captaincy but Brendon McCullum confirmed that Karthik will continue to lead the team.

Also Read: IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals Sign Up Shimron Hetmyer For INR 7.75 Crore

The India wicketkeeper-batsman had joined KKR for Rs 7.4 Crore in IPL 2018 auction. A surprise pick for the captaincy post, he led KKR to Playoffs in that season – KKR lost the Eliminator to Delhi Capitals.

Kolkata Knight Riders Announce Their Captain For IPL 2020
Image Credit: Twitter

In IPL 2019, KKR came up with a below-par performance as they only won six out of 14 matches. The off-field issues also had an impact on the team’s performance and the two-time champions failed to make it to the Playoffs.

Also Read: Simon Doull Blasts Royal Challengers Bangalore For Spending ‘Stupid Money’ To Buy Chris Morris

With a new coaching staff coming in, there were expectations that the franchise might make a change in the captaincy as well but McCullum announced that there will be no change in the leadership. Under Karthik, KKR have played 30 matches out of which they have won 15 and lost 14 matches.

Jos Buttler
Eoin Morgan (L) and Jos Buttler. Credits: AFP

Morgan, England’s World Cup-winning captain, will surely be part of the leadership group. It will be interesting to see whether KKR name a vice-captain for the next season or not.

In the auction, the franchise roped in Pat Cummins for a record price of Rs 15.5 Crore. KKR did not bid for Cummins in the initial stage and only joined the race when his price touched Rs 14.75 Crore. KKR made just two bids and bought him for Rs 15.50 Crore.

They also bought Varun Chakravarthy for Rs 4 Crore. The mystery leg-spinner drew bids from Royal Challengers Bangalore and KKR, who made the final bid. KKR also roped in Rahul Tripathi for Rs 60 Lakhs.