Kings XI Punjab vs Chennai Super Kings
Ravichandran Ashwin and MS Dhoni (Credits: IPL)

Last Update on: May 13th, 2019 at 12:08 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

No matter how much Chennai Super Kings dominate other teams, they have made it a habit of losing to Mumbai Indians. In the just-concluded season of the IPL, the Super Kings and Mumbai Indians met four times with the latter winning each one of them including the final on Sunday. The win in the final was Mumbai Indians’ third consecutive win over Super Kings in an IPL final.

Also Read: IPL 2019: Kieron Pollard Fined For Code Of Conduct Breach In Final

Mumbai Indians beat the Super Kings by 1 run to become the most successful team in the history of the league. Mumbai have now won four IPL titles, one more than second-placed Super Kings. Chasing 150,  Super Kings ended up on 148 for 7. The Super Kings were comfortably placed at 70 for 1 in the tenth over before losing Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu and MS Dhoni for just 12 runs. Shane Watson did manage to keep Super Kings in contention with a fighting fifty but departed on the fourth ball of the 20th over when his team needed just 5 from three balls. Lasith Malinga then defended the three runs to power Mumbai to a monumental win.

Also Read: Ravichandran Ashwin Mocks Chennai Super Kings After Loss In Final

Earlier in the game, Mumbai Indians scored 149 for 8 in the allotted 20 overs. Rohit Sharma’s decision to bat first looked spot on at the start when Quinton de Kock hit Deepak Chahar for three sixes in the third over to set the tone. But the Super Kings struck quickly to remove de Kock and Rohit inside powerplay as Mumbai finished the first six overs on 45 for 2. But some handy knocks from the likes of Ishan Kishan and Kieron Pollard took Mumbai to a challenging total which eventually turned out to be just enough in the end.

Read More  IND vs AUS Today Match Prediction- 2nd ODI, Who Will Win Today’s ODI Match Between India And Australia? 2023

Also Read: IPL: List of Orange Cap Winners in all the Seasons

And with Chennai Super Kings’ struggles against Mumbai Indians showing no signs of coming to an end, former Super Kings spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has come up with an idea that might do the trick for his first IPL team. Following the final, the off-spinner took to Twitter to suggest that from the next season onwards, choosing the winner from a best-of-three format might be the right step. The tweet might also be a dig from Ashwin at his former team as he perhaps made fun of their struggle to beat Mumbai.

“Looked like a 4th for @ChennaiIPL all the way until the last ball..What a final?. May be a best of 3 next time? #ipl19,” wrote Ashwin.