Royal Challengers Bangalore
Royal Challengers Bangalore's new jersey (Credits: Twitter)

Royal Challengers Bangalore are all set to start afresh in the Indian Premier League (IPL). After failing to win even one IPL title, the three-time finalists have decided to enter the new decade with a new-look team, new backroom staff, new logo as well as new jersey.

The Bengaluru-based outfit, on Friday, revealed their new jersey, new logo and also announced the tying up with new head sponsor, Muthoot Fincorp ahead of IPL 2020. The new unveiling started with the logo. After sending the fans into frenzy by removing their profile pictures from social media platforms, the Royal Challengers revealed the new logo which features a lion.

The franchise said it “embodies the bold and fearless attitude” of the 3-time finalists. There were speculations that the franchise might also change its name to Royal Challengers Bengaluru but it stuck with Bangalore.¬†Towards the evening, Royal Challengers Bangalore unfurled their new jersey as well.

The new one looked pretty similar to the one the team wore during the IPL 2019 in colour combination. But the new kit sported the name of their latest team sponsor – the Muthoot Fincorp, a financial conglomerate under Muthoot Papachan Group, also known as Muthoot Blue.

Well, The Bengaluru-based franchise will be hoping that the new-look side, new backroom staff, new logo and the new jersey change their fortunes as they will be aiming for their first-ever IPL title in the upcoming season. While Virat Kohli has been retained as the captain, the team has added a number of new players.

Royal Challengers Bangalore had a disastrous outing in the last edition as they finished at the bottom of the points table with just 5 wins from 14 games. In the auction, they roped in Australia’s ODI and T20I skipper Aaron Finch to bolster their top-order which looked shaky last season. Joshua Philippe and Shahbaz Ahmed are the two other new batting options.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s top buy was allrounder Chris Morris for whom they went all out and spent a staggering amount of INR 10 crore. The three-time finalists also signed up South Africa’s Dale Steyn, Sri Lanka’s Isuru Udana, Australia’s Kane Richardson and domestic cricketer Pavan Deshpande.