Team India To Wear New 'Retro' Themed Jersey Against Australia

Team India To Wear New ‘Retro’ Themed Jersey Against Australia

India, Jersey
Team India are to wear new jersey in Australia (Credits: Outlook)

With the thirteenth edition of the Indian Premier League coming to an end on Tuesday, the focus of the cricketing fraternity has now shifted to the much-anticipated series between India and Australia Down Under. Team India is scheduled to tour Australia for a full-fledged tour.

India’s tour of Australia will start with the three-match ODI series. The first two ODIs on November 27 and 29 will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground, while the third ODI and first T20I will take place at the Manuka Oval. Thereafter, the teams return to Sydney for the remaining two T20Is.

Tim Paine, Virat Kohli
Tim Paine and Virat Kohli (Credits: Twitter)

As far as the Test series is concerned, the pink ball Test is scheduled to be held at Adelaide Oval between December 17-21. This will also remain as the backup venue for the Boxing Day Test, if Melbourne is not able to host it due to Covid-19 restrictions. The final two Tests will be held in Sydney (January 7-11) finally Brisbane (January 15-19).

Team India to wear new jersey:

Team India are reportedly set to wear a new jersey for the limited overs matches in Australia. According to a report in Outlook, the new jersey is retro themed and has been inspired by the Seventies. The new kit will have a Navy Blue shade, a shift from the conventional sky blue colour that the team has been wearing in recent years.

The Navy Blue shirts will also sport the name of the BCCI’s new kit sponsors – MPL Sports. MPL replaced Nike in a three-year deal worth Rs 120 crores plus revenue share.

India (Credits: BCCI)

Australian will also wear a new-style jersey for the T20 series. The hosts will be donning specially-designed Indigenous shirts in the upcoming series against the Men in Blue. The jersey has been designed with an aim at recognising and encouraging the Indigenous Australians’ role in the sport.


1st ODI: Sydney (Nov. 27)
2nd ODI: Sydney (Nov. 29)
3rd ODI: Canberra (Dec. 2)

1st T20: Canberra (Dec 4)
2nd T20: Sydney (Dec 6)
3rd T20: Sydney (Dec 8)

1st Test: Adelaide (Dec 17-21)
2nd Test: Melbourne (Dec 26-30)
3rd Test: Sydney (Jan 7-11, 2021)
4th Test: Brisbane (Jan 15-19)

Also Read: Team India Leaves For Australia In Hazmat Suits Without Rohit Sharma

Also Read: Virat Kohli Is More Aggressive While Rohit Sharma Is Calm And Composed: Mumbai Indians Captain’s Childhood Coach