Twitter Reacts As India Whitewash West Indies Following 17-Run Win In Third And Final T20I
Twitter Reacts As India Whitewash West Indies Following 17-Run Win In Third And Final T20I

The third match of the three-match T20 International series between Rohit Sharma-led India National Cricket Team and Kieron Pollard-led West Indies National Cricket Team commenced at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata on Sunday, February 20 and Rohit Sharma and co. won by 17 runs to make it 3-0.

India had already won the series by winning the first match of the series comfortably by 6 wickets with the help of a good all-round performance. And in the second game, India won a thrilling battle by 8 runs.

IPL 2022 Auction | IPL 2022 Teams | IPL News and Updates | IPL  2022 Schedule | ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Shardul Thakur and Harshal Patel. Photo- BCCI

In the third game, West Indies won the toss and invited Rohit Sharma and co. to bat first in Kolkata. India made four big changes to the playing XI as Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shardul Thakur and Avesh Khan replaced Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Yuzvendra Chahal and Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the team. West Indies National Cricket Team also made 4 changes to the team as Hayden Walsh, Fabian Allen, Dominic Drakes and Shai Hope were added to the playing XI.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan opened the innings with Ruturaj Gaikwad and captain Rohit Sharma demoted himself in the batting order.

Deepak Chahar
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Both the openers started off slow, scoring 5 runs in the first over, which was bowled by Jason Holder and 4 runs in the second over, which was bowled by Romario Shepherd. Ruturaj Gaikwad got out in the 3rd ball of the third over, which was bowled by Jason Holder and then Shreyas Iyer came out to bat at no.3. Iyer and Kishan had a very good partnership and the young batters added 53 runs together off 36 balls.

Twitter Reacts As India Whitewash West Indies Following 17-Run Win In Third And Final T20I
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Hayden Walsh came to bowl the 9th over of the match and he dismissed middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer in the third ball. In the very next over spinner, Roston Chase castled opener Ishan Kishan.

Shreyas Iyer managed to score 25 runs off 16 balls, including 4 fours and Ishan Kishan scored 34 runs off 31 balls, including 5 boundaries.

All-format India captain Rohit Sharma, batting at no.4, played a very poor knock of 7 runs off 15 balls and he was dismissed in the 5th ball of the 14th over by Dominic Drakes.

Read More  KL Rahul refused to play Rajkot Test after being declared fit by NCA

After that Suryakumar Yadav and Venkatesh Iyer once again performed exceptionally well for the Indian team. They added a brilliant 91 runs off 37 balls and helped the Indian team score 184 runs after losing the toss and batting first.

Chasing the target West Indies openers Kyle Mayers and Shai Hope failed to contribute big runs and they both were dismissed by pacer Deepak Chahar.

However, Nicholas Pooran and Rovman Powell once again batted decently and they added good 47 runs together. After that West Indies lost quick wickets of Rovman Powell, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder and Roston Chase.

Still, Nicholas Pooran was batting brilliantly and he added 48 runs with Romario Shepherd but Pooran was dismissed by pacer Shardul Thakur in the first ball of the 18th over and he scored 61 runs off 47 balls including 8 fours and one six. In the end, Indian bowlers bowled brilliantly and helped India win the T20I series by 3-0.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To The Third T20I Between India And West Indies:


Also Read: IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans Unveil Logo In The Metaverse Ahead Of The Tournament

Read More  Mukesh Kumar to be snubbed, Akash Deep to debut in Ranchi Test: Report

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score

Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.