Andre Russell Makes Himself Unavailable As West Indies Announce Test, T20I Squads For New Zealand Tour

Andre Russell Makes Himself Unavailable As West Indies Announce Test, T20I Squads For New Zealand Tour

West Indies, West Indies Predicted XI
West Indies (Credits: Twitter)

Cricket West Indies (CWI), on Friday, announced their Test and T20I squads for the tour of New Zealand. The Caribbean outfit will play three T20Is and two Test matches in New Zealand from November 27 to December 15. CWI has also  confirmed that the board agreed to the tour in principle which is now subject to final details on medical and logistical protocols of CWI, New Zealand Cricket and the Government of New Zealand.

West Indies have recalled middle-order batsmen Darren Bravo and Shimron Hetmyer, as well as allrounder Keemo Paul in the Test side. Bravo has happy memories of New Zealand, having registered his highest Test score in that country when he scored 218 in Dunedin in 2013.

Darren Bravo
Darren Bravo. Credit: Getty Images

Along with the main squad, a group of reserves will also travel to help prepare the Test squad during the quarantine period and training camp as well as cover for injuries.

In the T20I squad, wicketkeeper-batsman Andre Fletcher has earned a recall for the first time since 2018. West Indies have also handed a maiden call-up to allrounder Kyle Mayers after his impressive outing in this year’s CPL. Meanwhile, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis have opted not to participate in the tour.

Andre Russell
Andre Russell (Credits: Twitter)

West Indies Test Squad:

Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach

Test Reserves:

Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales

T20I Squad:

Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams

Also Read: 9 Pakistan Players And 3 Officials Breach Bio-Security Protocols During The National T20 Cup

Also Read: Ravichandran Ashwin Hilariously Roasts News Outlet After It Tags Wrong Ashwin